STATE OF ALASKA THE LEGISLATURE

2015

Source HCS CSSJR 16(RLS)





Expressing support for the Arctic Economic Council and the United States Arctic Economic Council delegation; requesting that the United States Congress express support for the Arctic Economic Council, for the chair of the Arctic Economic Council to be a resident of this state, and for the structure of the Arctic Economic Council leadership to mirror the rotation of the chair of the Arctic Council; and encouraging the United States Congress to cooperate with the state on matters related to and under consideration by the Arctic Economic Council.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

WHEREAS the United States is a member nation because of the Arctic region of this

state; and

WHEREAS, during the United States chairmanship of the Arctic Council, the chair of the Arctic Economic Council should be a resident of the state; and

WHEREAS the structure of the Arctic Economic Council leadership should mirror the rotation of the chair of the Arctic Council; and

WHEREAS the Arctic Council was established by the Ottawa Declaration of 1996 to function as a high-level intergovernmental forum to promote cooperation, coordination, and interaction across the Arctic, with the involvement of the indigenous communities and people of the Arctic, and with a focus on sustainable development and environmental protection of the Arctic; and

WHEREAS the United States of America, the Russian Federation, Finland, Norway, Sweden, the Kingdom of Denmark, including Greenland and the Faroe Islands, Iceland, and Canada are all member nations of the Arctic Council; and

WHEREAS the Permanent Participant organizations of the Arctic Council include the Inuit Circumpolar Council, the Aleut International Association, the Gwich'in Council International, the Arctic Athabaskan Council, the Saami Council, and the Russian Association of Indigenous Peoples of the North; and

WHEREAS the indigenous people of the state are represented in four of the six Permanent Participant organizations; and

WHEREAS, in 2013, Canada assumed the chair of the Arctic Council; and

WHEREAS, on August 23, 2012, Stephen Harper, Prime Minister of Canada, appointed Minister Leona Aglukkaq as the chair of the Arctic Council during the chairmanship of Canada; and

WHEREAS Minister Aglukkaq is the first indigenous person to serve as chair of the Arctic Council; and

WHEREAS, like the residents of the state and the Alaska State Legislature, Minister Aglukkaq recognizes the importance of responsible economic, natural, and human resource development, as well as the importance of a healthy environment; and

WHEREAS, as a result of this understanding, Minister Aglukkaq took a leadership position in creating the Arctic Economic Council; and

WHEREAS the Arctic Economic Council is charged with fostering business development in the Arctic, engaging in deeper circumpolar cooperation, and providing a business perspective to the work of the Arctic Council; and

WHEREAS the Arctic Economic Council has the same members as the Arctic Council; and

WHEREAS Alaskans Drue Pearce, Gail Schubert, Lori Davey, and Bruce Harland

Enrolled SJR 16

represented the United States at the inaugural meeting in Iqaluit; and

WHEREAS indigenous resident Tara Sweeney represented the Inuit Circumpolar Council as a Permanent Participant at the inaugural meeting in Iqaluit and was elected as the United States representative on the executive committee of the Arctic Economic Council; and

WHEREAS the federal government had no official presence at the inaugural meeting of the Arctic Economic Council, and the entire United States delegation was made up of residents of the state; and

WHEREAS the United States Arctic Economic Council delegation, consisting of three state business representatives and resident Permanent Participants, is working to secure the rotation of the chair of the Arctic Economic Council to mirror the rotation of the chair of the Arctic Council; and

WHEREAS, if the United States Arctic Economic Council delegation is successful in its efforts, an Alaskan will be the incoming chair of the Arctic Economic Council in April 2015; and

WHEREAS, as residents of an Arctic state, Alaskans realize the importance of balancing responsible economic development of natural and human resources and environmental stewardship; and

WHEREAS residents of the state living in the Arctic, as well as indigenous residents of the state, rely on the land and the sea to sustain traditional lifestyles and have a wealth of traditional knowledge that could be incorporated into the policies that affect the Arctic; and

WHEREAS residents of the state, including indigenous residents of the state, rely on revenue from responsible economic development to maintain schools, roads, communities, and essential public service infrastructure; and

WHEREAS the Alaska State Legislature recognizes the importance of the Arctic Economic Council in providing a forum for residents of the state to give input on policies and guiding principles regarding economic development in the Arctic; and

WHEREAS the state holds a strategic position as the gateway to the Arctic and will benefit from the efforts of the Arctic Economic Council;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature seeks to empower the United States Arctic Economic Council delegation, which consists entirely of residents of this state; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature expresses its confidence in and support for the Arctic Economic Council; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature respectfully requests that the United States Congress express support for the Arctic Economic Council, for the chair of the Arctic Economic Council to be a resident of this state, and for the structure of the Arctic Economic Council leadership to mirror the rotation of the chair of the Arctic Council; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature encourages the United States Congress to cooperate closely with the state on all matters related to and under consideration by the Arctic Economic Council.

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Barack Obama, President of the United States; the Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr., Vice-President of the United States and President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable John F. Kerry, United States Secretary of State; David Balton, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Oceans and Fisheries, Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs, United States Department of State; Julia Gourley, Senior Arctic Official, Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs, United States Department of State; Julia Gourley, Senior Arctic Official, Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs, United States Department of State; Fran Ulmer, Special Representative for the Arctic, United States Department of State; Fran Ulmer, Special Advisor on Arctic Science and Policy, United States Department of State; Craig Fleener, Special Assistant on Arctic Policy, Office of the Governor; and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Dan Sullivan, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.

-4-