STATE OF ALASKA THE LEGISLATURE

2015

Source SCS CSHJR 18(RES) Legislative Resolve No.



Urging the United States Congress to pass the Improved National Monument Designation Process Act.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

WHEREAS the President of the United States may "declare by public proclamation historic landmarks, historic and prehistoric structures, and other objects of historic or scientific interest" as national monuments under the Antiquities Act of 1906 (16 U.S.C. 431 - 433), and the United States Congress may establish national monuments through legislation; and

WHEREAS the Antiquities Act requires the President of the United States to reserve "the smallest area compatible with the proper care and management of the objects to be protected" within the boundaries of the national monument; and

WHEREAS there are already 142 national monuments ranging in size from less than an acre to nearly 140,000 square miles spread out across the land and water of the United States; and

WHEREAS President Barack Obama has unilaterally expanded the scope and boundaries of national monuments; and

WHEREAS President Obama has established 10 new national monuments since beginning his second term of office; and

WHEREAS President Obama was responsible for the largest expansion of an existing national monument when he added, by proclamation, approximately 400,000 square miles to the Pacific Remote Islands Marine National Monument in 2014; and

WHEREAS the establishment or expansion of national monuments without consideration of the possible detrimental effects on natural resource development, commercial fishing, tourism, and other industries may create considerable hardship on regional, state, and local economies; and

WHEREAS the President's exercise of power under the Antiquities Act is limited in Alaska by the "no more" clauses of the Alaska National Interest Lands Conservation Act; and

WHEREAS, in the Alaska National Interest Lands Conservation Act, the federal government promised the state and people of Alaska that it would maintain in the lands it manages a balance between environmental protection and the economic and social needs of Alaskans and that no more land in the state would be set aside; and

WHEREAS, in February 2015, United States Senators Lisa Murkowski and Dan Sullivan jointly introduced S. 437, the Improved National Monument Designation Process Act, establishing new requirements and limitations on the authority of the President of the United States to establish or expand national monuments under the Antiquities Act; and

WHEREAS, under the Improved National Monument Designation Process Act, the President of the United States may not establish a national monument unless it is approved by the United States Congress and by each affected state or territory within 100 miles of the proposed national monument; and

WHEREAS the purposes of the "no more" clauses of the Alaska National Interest Lands Conservation Act would be strengthened by the limitations placed on the authority of the President by the Improved National Monument Designation Process Act;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature supports the direct involvement of the United States Congress and the states in the establishment and expansion of national monuments; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED the Alaska State Legislature urges the United States Congress to pass S. 437, the Improved National Monument Designation Process Act, so that

the use of Alaska's renewable and nonrenewable resources is protected and environmentally responsible resource extraction and development activities may take place.

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Barack Obama, President of the United States; the Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr., Vice-President of the United States and President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable John Boehner, Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives; the Honorable Kevin McCarthy, Majority Leader of the U.S. House of Representatives; the Honorable Nancy Pelosi, Minority Leader of the U.S. House of Representatives; the Honorable Mitch McConnell, Majority Leader of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Harry Reid, Minority Leader of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Lisa Murkowski, Chair of the U.S. Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources; the Honorable Dan Sullivan, U.S. Senator, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress; and all other members of the 114th United States Congress.