STATE OF ALASKA THE LEGISLATURE

2015

Source SCS CSHCR 5(ARC) Legislative Resolve No.





Declaring 2015, 2016, and 2017 to be the Years of the Arctic; encouraging the state and its partners to join with the Institute of the North in encouraging the state to promote its Arctic policy during the Years of the Arctic and to take action to address the strategic recommendations in the Implementation Plan of the Alaska Arctic Policy Commission.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

WHEREAS residents of the state are at the forefront of emerging economic and resource development opportunities, vibrant healthy communities, and circumpolar cooperation; and

WHEREAS the vision of the state for the Arctic is based on economic resource development, a healthy environment, secure and safe communities, and transparent decision making; and

WHEREAS the Arctic is an integral part of the identity of the state, home to many residents of the state, and an important part of the history, culture, and prosperity of the state; and

WHEREAS the Arctic is a significant geopolitical feature of the nation; and

WHEREAS the Arctic is becoming increasingly accessible, presenting a multitude of opportunities that should be realized; and

WHEREAS the Implementation Plan, released by the Alaska Arctic Policy Commission, highlights the critical importance of the Arctic to the future of the state; and

WHEREAS there is a need to strengthen international collaboration, promote economic and resource development, and continue to cultivate healthy communities and a healthy environment in the Arctic; and

WHEREAS the United States will chair the Arctic Council from April 2015 to May 2017; and

WHEREAS the state should anticipate increased national and international attention during this period; and

WHEREAS the Alaska State Legislature continues to encourage the United States Department of State to work with the state to hold as many meetings of the Senior Arctic Officials as possible in the state during the two-year Arctic Council chairmanship of the United States; and

WHEREAS the members of the Senate Special Committee on the Arctic and the House Special Committee on Economic Development, Tourism, and Arctic Policy would like to join the efforts of the governor as ex officio members of the state's host committee for the Arctic Council and the working groups of the Arctic Council; and

WHEREAS nothing in this resolution supports, endorses, or opposes the reestablishment of the Alaska coastal zone management program that expired in 2011 and was rejected by the state voters in 2012; and

WHEREAS nothing in this resolution supports, endorses, or opposes the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature declares 2015, 2016, and 2017 to be the Years of the Arctic, a period during which the state should make every effort to highlight the importance of the Arctic to residents of the state and nation; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature encourages the state and its partners to join with the Institute of the North in encouraging the state to promote its Arctic policy and broadening awareness of Arctic issues; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature encourages the state to

take action during the Years of the Arctic to address the strategic recommendations in the Implementation Plan of the Alaska Arctic Policy Commission.