STATE OF ALASKA SENATE

2013

Source SR 4 Senate Resolve No.





Welcoming the delegates of the Pacific NorthWest Economic Region from Alberta, the Northwest Territories, and Saskatchewan; and relating to collaboration with the governments of the Yukon and the Northwest Territories and other representatives of the Pacific NorthWest Economic Region.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE:

WHEREAS the Pacific NorthWest Economic Region was formed in 1991 as a forum for collaborative public and private sector planning among the states of Alaska, Montana, Washington, Oregon, and Idaho, the Canadian provinces and territories of the Yukon, the Northwest Territories, British Columbia, Alberta, and Saskatchewan, and the national capitals of Washington, D.C., and Ottawa, Canada; and

WHEREAS the Arctic Caucus of the Pacific NorthWest Economic Region was formed in November 2009 as an informal group of legislators, government officials, business leaders, and nonprofit organization leaders committed to the responsible development of North America's Arctic region; and

WHEREAS the purpose of the Arctic Caucus is to provide a forum within the Pacific

NorthWest Economic Region for the Arctic jurisdictions of Alaska, the Yukon, and the Northwest Territories to share information, discuss issues of mutual concern, and identify areas for collaboration, including working with other jurisdictions and providing Arctic-related input to the working groups of the Pacific NorthWest Economic Region; and

WHEREAS there is much to be gained by Alaska, the Yukon, and the Northwest Territories closely sharing strategies to solve common problems and working together to solve these problems; and

WHEREAS, this year, the Arctic Caucus will be providing input to the Pacific NorthWest Economic Region annual summit in Anchorage, Alaska, on July 14 - 19, 2013;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate welcomes the visiting delegates of the Pacific NorthWest Economic Region to Alaska's state capital; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that the Senate invites the governments of the Pacific NorthWest Economic Region to continue our enduring alliance in pursuit of the common goals of our regions.

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Right Honourable Stephen Harper, Prime Minister of Canada; the Honorable Barack Obama, President of the United States; the Honourable John Morris Duncan, Canadian Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development; the Honorable Ken Salazar, United States Secretary of the Interior; the Honourable Bob McLeod, Member of the Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories; the Honourable Denis Stevens, Consul General of the Consulate General of Canada in Seattle, Washington; the Honorable Sean Parnell, Governor of Alaska; the Honorable Mead Treadwell, Lieutenant Governor of Alaska; and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Mark Begich, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.