STATE OF ALASKA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

2012

Source CSHR 11(STA) House Resolve No.



In support of providing TRICARE program health care benefits to United States Coast Guard and military retirees as promised.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES:

WHEREAS recruiting and maintaining a high-quality, all-volunteer, effective military force to safeguard national security is a primary goal of the United States Department of Defense; and

WHEREAS persons who volunteer for military service are at risk of mortal harm throughout the time they serve; and

WHEREAS the people of the state and nation rely on the men and women who serve in the military to execute faithfully that service; and

WHEREAS it is reasonable for the men and women who serve in the military to rely on promises made to them by the people of the state and nation; and

WHEREAS men and women who serve in the military and the United States Coast Guard have been promised they will receive military retiree health care benefits from the TRICARE program of the United States Department of Defense Military Health System (10 U.S.C. 55) after they perform 20 or more years of honorable military service; and

WHEREAS breaking that promise would be dishonorable;

BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives supports providing to military retirees who have kept their oaths of office and served the people of the state and nation the TRICARE program health care benefits they were promised in exchange for that service without their being required to participate in health care programs that are more expensive to them than the TRICARE program and without their eligibility for TRICARE program health care benefits being made subject to means testing.

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Barack Obama, President of the United States; the Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr., Vice-President of the United States and President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Leon E. Panetta, United States Secretary of Defense; the Honorable Janet A. Napolitano, United States Secretary of Homeland Security; the Honorable John E. Bryson, United States Secretary of Commerce; the Honorable Kathleen Sebelius, United States Secretary of Health and Human Services; General Martin E. Dempsey, Chair, Joint Chiefs of Staff; the Honorable Regina M. Benjamin, Surgeon General of the United States; and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Mark Begich, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.