## STATE OF ALASKA THE LEGISLATURE

## 2009

Source

Legislative Resolve No.



Relating to carrying firearms in national parks.

## BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

**WHEREAS** the National Park Service under the Administration of former President George W. Bush adopted a rule allowing park users to carry concealed firearms for personal protection; and

WHEREAS aggressive wildlife do not respect park boundaries; and

**WHEREAS** it is not unusual for hikers or other park users to encounter a fresh bear kill or rabid animal or unintentionally to come between a sow and her cub; and

**WHEREAS** other life-threatening situations can and often do occur in the wilds of the national parks; and

WHEREAS allowing concealed firearms is the most successful program of selfdefense ever undertaken by the federal government; and

WHEREAS the private ownership of firearms is a key component of national defense and constitutes notice to our enemies that Americans are a free people and a people free to defend themselves; and

WHEREAS the incoming Obama Administration should continue the policy of

Enrolled SJR 3

allowing park users to carry concealed firearms in the national parks; and

**WHEREAS** the rule relating to use of firearms in national parks could be improved by removing the requirement that the firearm must be concealed;

**BE IT RESOLVED** that the Alaska State Legislature commends former President George W. Bush and the National Park Service for adopting rules allowing firearms to be carried in national parks for personal protection; and be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED** that the Alaska State Legislature encourages President Barack Obama and the National Park Service to continue and improve the rule allowing park users to carry firearms.

**COPIES** of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Barack Obama, President of the United States; the Honorable Ken Salazar, United States Secretary of the Interior; the incoming director of the National Park Service; former President George W. Bush; and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Mark Begich, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.