STATE OF ALASKA THE LEGISLATURE

2009

Source CSHJR 31(MLV)

Legislative Resolve No.



Urging the United States Congress to pass the Honor the Written Intent of our Soldier Heroes Act.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

WHEREAS federal law under 10 U.S.C. 1482(c) prohibits a service member from designating a person other than a surviving spouse, blood relative, or adoptive relative to direct the disposal of a service member's remains; and

WHEREAS, before deploying on a combat operation, a service member is asked to designate a person who will be responsible for arranging the service member's memorial services and overseeing the service member's burial arrangements; and

WHEREAS service members fill out DD Form 93, on which they express their last wishes with the expectation that their last wishes regarding memorial services and burial arrangements will be honored; and

WHEREAS, since 2003, more than 4,000 service members who have served honorably have given their lives in combat; and

WHEREAS a service member deploying on a combat operation in defense of our country should be allowed to designate any person the service member wishes to direct the

disposition of the service member's remains; and

WHEREAS H.R. 1633, the Honor the Written Intent of our Soldier Heroes Act, also referred to as the Honor the WISH Act, amends 10 U.S.C. 1482(c) to allow a service member to designate any person the service member wishes to direct the disposition of the service member's remains, regardless of the designated person's relationship to the service member;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature urges the United States Congress to pass H.R. 1633, the Honor the Written Intent of our Soldier Heroes Act.

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Pete Geren, United States Secretary of the Army; the Honorable Donald C. Winter, United States Secretary of the Navy; the Honorable Michael B. Donley, United States Secretary of the Air Force; the Honorable Sarah Palin, Governor of Alaska; and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Mark Begich, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.