STATE OF ALASKA SENATE

2007

Source CSSR 7(FIN) Senate Resolve No.



Creating and relating to the Senate VPSO Task Force.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE:

WHEREAS many rural areas of the state, including rural areas located on the road system, depend on village public safety officers for police protection and law enforcement; and

WHEREAS nonprofit regional corporations, coordinating with the state, administer village public safety officer programs; and

WHEREAS it is in the interest of the entire state to ensure that rural areas are provided with adequate law enforcement services;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate VPSO Task Force is established in the legislative branch by the senate, consisting of the attorney general or the attorney general's designee, the commissioner of public safety or the commissioner's designee, three senators, and two public members appointed by the president of the senate, who shall also designate one of the senate members to serve as chair; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that the public members of the task force may receive per diem and travel expenses authorized for boards and commissions under AS 39.20.180, subject

to available funding and approval by the task force chair; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall

(1) consider the role of the village public safety officer program and ways in which the program can be improved to better serve rural areas of the state, including areas located on roads;

(2) identify any problems with the village public safety officer program and ways those problems might be addressed;

(3) review statutes and regulations that deal with the village public safety officer program and consider whether statutory changes are necessary or desirable;

(4) prepare and deliver to the senate, by February 15, 2008, a report of the findings and recommendations of the task force; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that, subject to available funding, the chair of the task force may hire staff and that the Legislative Affairs Agency shall provide administrative support to the task force as needed; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that the Senate VPSO Task Force is terminated on February 15, 2008.

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Talis J. Colberg, Alaska Attorney General; and the Honorable Walt Monegan, Commissioner, Department of Public Safety.