## STATE OF ALASKA THE LEGISLATURE

## 2008

Source HJR 40 am Legislative Resolve No. 50



Relating to defending the state from electromagnetic pulse attacks.

\_\_\_\_\_

## BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

**WHEREAS** the Constitution of the United States imposes on the national government a duty to provide for the common defense, and the states and the national government work together toward the security of each state; and

WHEREAS the Congressionally mandated Commission to Assess the Threat to the United States from Electromagnetic Pulse Attack found, in its report delivered July 2004, that an enemy using a low-yield nuclear weapon detonated at a high altitude above the United States, delivered by even a relatively unsophisticated short-range or medium-range ballistic missile, could make an electromagnetic pulse attack against the United States, and that an electromagnetic pulse attack has the potential to place our society at risk and to defeat our military forces; and

WHEREAS the Alaska State Legislature views with growing concern the development of nuclear weapons technology worldwide and the proliferation of ballistic missile delivery systems that are controlled by unstable and potentially hostile foreign regimes; and

**WHEREAS** the threat from nuclear-armed ballistic missile attack has been reduced but not eliminated by the initial limited deployments of ground-based interceptors in Alaska and California; and

**WHEREAS** the Cold War doctrine of mutually assured destruction no longer represents a plausible security strategy because of the proliferation of ballistic missiles around the world; and

WHEREAS the testing of ballistic missiles launched from ships by enemies of the United States could indicate the intention of those enemies to use a platform off the coast of Alaska to employ short-range or medium-range missiles for a nuclear-generated electromagnetic pulse attack on American citizens; and

**WHEREAS**, in 1997, the Alaska State Legislature was the first of many state legislatures to petition the federal government to develop and deploy a robust and layered missile defense system that includes the most effective combination of land-based, sea-based, air-based, and space-based architectures;

**BE IT RESOLVED** that the Alaska State Legislature urges the United States to work with the State of Alaska to ensure that the state is prepared to respond to and recover from an electromagnetic pulse attack; and be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED** that the Alaska State Legislature urges the United States to expand its ballistic missile defense system, and also to develop other methods, to defend against electromagnetic pulse attacks delivered by ballistic missiles, including missiles launched at American cities from ships off the coast of Alaska; and be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED** that it is the policy of the state to include in its preparedness planning defense against electromagnetic pulse attacks, as those attacks intersect with the full range of risks, threats, and hazards confronting the state; and be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED** that it is the policy of the state to educate Alaskans about the threat of electromagnetic pulse attacks causing massive losses of electric power and disruption to telecommunications and other vital services, including health, public safety, food, and transportation services that depend on reliable electric power; and be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED** that the Alaska State Legislature encourages municipalities and private industry in the state to examine critical vulnerabilities in their infrastructures and to prepare for massive disruptions that could be caused by electromagnetic pulse attacks.

**COPIES** of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable George W. Bush, President of the United States; the Honorable Richard B. Cheney, Vice-President of the United States and President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Harry Reid, Majority Leader of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Mitch McConnell, Minority Leader of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Nancy Pelosi, Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives; the Honorable Steny H. Hoyer, Majority Leader of the U.S. House of Representatives; the Honorable John Boehner, Minority Leader of the U.S. House of Representatives; the Honorable Robert M. Gates, United States Secretary of Defense; the Honorable Samuel W. Bodman, United States Secretary of Energy; the Honorable Michael O. Leavitt, United States Secretary of Health and Human Services; the Honorable Michael Chertoff, United States Secretary of Homeland Security; the Honorable Condoleezza Rice, United States Secretary of State; the Honorable Mary E. Peters, United States Secretary of Transportation; the Honorable Henry M. Paulson, Jr., United States Secretary of the Treasury; the Honorable Robert S. Mueller, Director of the Federal Bureau of Investigation; the Honorable Mike Mullen, Chair of the Joint Chiefs of Staff; the Honorable Mike McConnell, Director of National Intelligence; and the Honorable Ted Stevens and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.