STATE OF ALASKA THE LEGISLATURE

2008

Source CSHJR 31(RES)

Legislative Resolve No. 70



Opposing the enactment of the Protect America's Wildlife Act of 2007 that intends to prohibit aerial hunting of wildlife, which is essential for predator control in Alaska.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

WHEREAS the Alaska Department of Fish and Game has experienced and knowledgeable biologists familiar with Alaska wildlife; and

WHEREAS the Alaska Board of Game openly discusses game management at board meetings and makes decisions based on scientific data; and

WHEREAS Alaska is a sovereign government within the United States with its own Board of Game responsible for managing the wildlife asset to be utilized, developed, and maintained on the sustained yield principle, subject to preferences among beneficial uses, under art. VIII, sec. 4, Constitution of the State of Alaska; and

WHEREAS many areas in Alaska are accessible only by boat or aircraft; and

WHEREAS Alaska presents unique living and wildlife situations of which many people outside the state might not be aware; and

WHEREAS there is no shortage of predators in Alaska; and

WHEREAS predator imbalance will destroy other species that are important to the

ecosystem of Alaska; and

WHEREAS there is legislation before the United States Congress to prevent aerial predator control; and

WHEREAS the use of aircraft is a necessary tool for managing the asset of game animals to provide for abundance for personal use in Alaska; and

WHEREAS much of Alaska's wildlife represents a natural food source for many Alaskans:

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature urges all members of the United States Congress to oppose H.R. 3663, the Protect America's Wildlife Act of 2007; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that management of fish and game in Alaska should be left to the experts in the state.

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable George W. Bush, President of the United States; the Honorable Richard B. Cheney, Vice-President of the United States and President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Ted Stevens and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress; and all other members of the 110th United States Congress.