STATE OF ALASKA THE LEGISLATURE

2007

Source HJR 20





Urging the United States Congress to intervene to eliminate or reduce the planned parcel post and bypass mail rate increases adopted by the United States Postal Service because of the severe effect the rate increases will have on rural Alaska.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

WHEREAS the United States Postal Service intends to increase overall fourth class parcel post rates to rural Alaska on May 14, 2007, by between 29 and 58 percent, depending on the average bundle rate; and

WHEREAS rural Alaskans depend on the bypass mail system to bring the products and food they consume every day; and

WHEREAS the parcel post rates are also the bypass mail rates; and

WHEREAS the rate increase is believed to be the largest single rate increase for bypass mail consumers; and

WHEREAS many Alaskans who live in rural Alaska live on fixed incomes; and

WHEREAS high fuel costs in rural Alaska are already forcing families to make choices between heating their homes, feeding their families, and buying other life necessities

with limited incomes; and

WHEREAS, when the pending rate increase takes effect, a 40-pound parcel of food going from Anchorage to Bethel that currently costs 26.5 cents a pound will cost 37 cents a pound, and the cost of a gallon of milk in Bethel will rise from the current price of \$6.89 to more than \$8; and

WHEREAS increased costs of delivery of food in Bethel will be reflected in every rural hub and cause subsequent financial hardship in all remote villages; and

WHEREAS the pending rate increase, if implemented, will have a substantial negative effect on the lives of rural Alaskans;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature urges the United States Congress to intervene to eliminate or reduce the pending parcel post and bypass mail rate increases adopted by the United States Postal Service as they apply to rural Alaska.

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable George W. Bush, President of the United States; the Honorable John E. Potter, United States Postmaster General; and the Honorable Ted Stevens and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.