## STATE OF ALASKA THE LEGISLATURE

## 2008

 Source
 Resolve No.

 HJR 16
 33



Opposing imposition of a milk tax on Alaskans.

## BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

WHEREAS Alaska residents consume more milk, cheese, butter, yogurt, and other dairy products than Alaska dairy farmers are able to produce, making Alaska a "milk-deficit" state: and

**WHEREAS**, because of their milk-deficit status, the United States Congress wisely excluded Alaska, Hawaii, and Puerto Rico from the mandatory dairy promotion assessment or "milk tax" of the Dairy Production Stabilization Act of 1983; and

**WHEREAS** this exemption was maintained in the Farm Security and Rural Investment Act of 2002; and

**WHEREAS** the National Milk Producers Federation and other dairy interests in the lower 48 states want to extend the milk tax to Alaska dairy farmers; and

**WHEREAS** the milk tax would require Alaska dairy farmers to pay into the national dairy promotion program that presently benefits only the lower 48 states and does nothing to help Alaska dairy farmers or consumers; and

WHEREAS Alaska dairy farmers and consumers cannot benefit from the various

dairy promotion, advertising, and research programs funded by the milk tax imposed on milk marketed by dairy farmers in the lower 48 states; and

WHEREAS the mandatory dairy promotion assessment would constitute an onerous, costly, and unacceptable new milk tax on all Alaskans, including dairy farmers, consumers, school children, day care centers, residents of rural Alaska, Alaska Natives, small businesses, and others who would be forced to pay more for milk and dairy products that already are among the most expensive in the nation;

**BE IT RESOLVED** that the Alaska State Legislature strongly condemns and resolutely opposes imposition of the milk tax on Alaskans.

**COPIES** of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable George W. Bush, President of the United States; the Honorable Richard B. Cheney, Vice-President of the United States and President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Ed Schafer, United States Secretary of Agriculture; and the Honorable Ted Stevens and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.