STATE OF ALASKA THE LEGISLATURE

2005

Source
SJR 16

Legislative Resolve No.



Supporting legislation before the United States Congress that reaffirms the right of the states to regulate hunting and fishing.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

WHEREAS individual states within the United States exercise primary authority over management of fish and wildlife resources within each state's boundaries; and

WHEREAS states also possess general police powers to regulate matters of legitimate local concern, even though interstate commerce may be affected; and

WHEREAS a state's regulation of hunting and fishing and the conservation and enhancement of its wildlife populations represent matters of legitimate local concern; and

WHEREAS states are best situated to regulate hunting and fishing within their boundaries; and

WHEREAS regulation of hunting and fishing may include efforts to provide benefits to a state's citizens and residents, raise revenue for wildlife conservation from residents and nonresidents, and ensure public safety;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature supports H.R. 731 in the United States House of Representatives, reaffirming the authority of the states to regulate hunting and

fishing activities within their respective boundaries and stating that silence on the part of the United States Congress should not be construed to impose any barrier under the federal Commerce Clause to state regulation of hunting and fishing; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature also supports S. 339 in the United States Senate, declaring that continued regulation of access to hunting and fishing by the states is in the public interest and that silence on the part of the United States Congress should not be construed to impose any barrier under the federal Commerce Clause to the regulation of hunting and fishing by the states.

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Ted Stevens, President Pro Tempore of the U.S. Senate and member of the Alaska delegation in Congress; the Honorable J. Dennis Hastert, Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives; and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski, U.S. Senator, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.