STATE OF ALASKA THE LEGISLATURE

2006

Source CSHJR 36(HES)

Legislative Resolve No. 58



Urging the United States Congress to support the granting of official Observer Status to the Republic of China at the World Health Assembly Annual Conference to be held at Geneva, Switzerland, in May 2006.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

WHEREAS the health of the peoples of the world is of vital importance to the United States, including the citizens of Alaska, and to the Republic of China; and

WHEREAS the people of the United States and the Republic of China have generously contributed to programs that benefit the health of the peoples of the world; and

WHEREAS it would be mutually beneficial to the people of the United States, including Alaska, and the people of the Republic of China to both assist and realize a continuation of international efforts the goal of which is to expand and further develop health-related knowledge; and

WHEREAS today there is a strong need for the rapid and complete international dissemination of health-medical information and research results in view of the recent outbreaks of Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS) and Avian Influenza, considered to be worldwide health threats;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature encourages the United States Congress to authorize the United States to endorse the request by the Republic of China to be granted Observer Status at the World Health Assembly Annual Conference in May 2006 at Geneva, Switzerland.

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Chen Shui-bian, President of the Republic of China; the Honorable George W. Bush, President of the United States; the Honorable Condoleezza Rice, United States Secretary of State; the Honorable Michael O. Leavitt, United States Secretary of Health and Human Services; the World Health Assembly; the World Health Organization; Robert C. M. Chen, Director General, Taipei Economic and Cultural Office in Seattle, 600 University Street, Suite 2020, Seattle, WA 98101; and to the Honorable Ted Stevens and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.