STATE OF ALASKA THE LEGISLATURE

2006

Source CSHJR 25(STA)

Legislative Resolve No.



Urging the United States Congress to adopt Sec. 303 of the United States House of Representatives version of the Tax Relief Extension Reconciliation Act of 2005.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

WHEREAS a large number of Alaskans are currently serving or have served in the military; and

WHEREAS the Alaska veterans mortgage program is currently restricted by a 1986 federal tax code provision that provides tax-exempt bonds for housing loans for veterans to only those veterans who served before January 1, 1977; and

WHEREAS, in 2005, the number of veterans in Alaska who qualified for and applied for loans funded by tax-exempt bonds for housing loans for veterans has decreased to fewer than 60; and

WHEREAS the courageous men and women of Alaska who serve in the armed forces and make sacrifices for our country should all be entitled to low-cost veterans' housing loans;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature requests that the United States Congress include in the final conference report of the Tax Relief Extension Reconciliation

Act of 2005, H.R. 4297, sec. 303, repealing the requirement that a veteran must have served in the military before January 1, 1977, in order to qualify for a veterans' housing loan.

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable George W. Bush, President of the United States; the Honorable Richard B. Cheney, Vice-President of the United States and President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Bill Frist, Majority Leader of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Harry Reid, Minority Leader of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable J. Dennis Hastert, Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives; the Honorable John Boehner, Majority Leader of the U.S. House of Representatives; the Honorable Nancy Pelosi, Minority Leader of the U.S. House of Representatives; the Honorable Larry Craig, Chair of the U.S. Senate Committee on Veterans' Affairs; the Honorable Steve Buyer, Chair of the U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Veterans' Affairs; the Honorable Frank H. Murkowski, Governor of Alaska; the Honorable Ted Stevens and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress; and, by electronic transmission, all other members of the U.S. Senate and the U.S. House of Representatives serving in the 109th United States Congress.