STATE OF ALASKA THE LEGISLATURE

2005

Source HJR 20 Legislative Resolve No.



Urging the United States Congress and the United States Food and Drug Administration to assist in the prompt approval of new drug applications for the treatment of prostate cancer.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

WHEREAS four Alaskans a day contracted cancer in 1996; and

WHEREAS five Alaskans a day will contract cancer in 2005; and

WHEREAS, in 1996, one out of every 59 men between the ages of 40 and 59 contracted prostate cancer; and

WHEREAS, in 2005, one out of every 39 men between the ages of 40 and 59 will contract prostate cancer; and

WHEREAS the rate of men contracting prostate cancer between the ages of 40 and 59 is increasing rapidly; and

WHEREAS the cost of cancer in terms of lost productivity is estimated at \$16,900,000,000 each year in the United States; and

WHEREAS approximately 25 men die every year from prostate cancer in Alaska; and

Enrolled HJR 20

WHEREAS prostate cancer is second only to lung cancer as the leading cause of cancer-related death in men; and

WHEREAS most other major types of cancer have specialized drugs associated with their treatment; and

WHEREAS prostate cancer has no specialized drug associated with its treatment; and

WHEREAS recent trials have indicated the effectiveness of Xinlay (atrasentan) as a targeted treatment for metastatic hormone-refractory prostate cancer, an advanced stage of the disease that has spread to other parts of the body and no longer responds to hormone treatment; and

WHEREAS recently completed clinical trials indicate that Xinlay may be useful to the 30,000 men who will die this year from prostate cancer in America;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature urges the United States Congress and the United States Department of Health and Human Services, United States Food and Drug Administration, to assist in the prompt approval of new drug applications for targeted drugs for the treatment of prostate cancer.

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable George W. Bush, President of the United States; the Honorable Michael O. Leavitt, United States Secretary of Health and Human Services; the Honorable Lester Crawford, acting Commissioner of the United States Food and Drug Administration; the Honorable Ted Stevens and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress, and all other members of the 109th United States Congress.