STATE OF ALASKA THE LEGISLATURE

2005

Source CSHJR 6(FSH) **Legislative Resolve No.** 5



Relating to the labeling of fish and shellfish to identify the country of origin and to distinguish between wild and farmed fish and shellfish.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

WHEREAS Americans deserve wholesome foods and information about the contents and production of their food supply; and

WHEREAS Alaska's fish production is distinct from farmed fish production because Alaska fish are wild, free-ranging, and, therefore, naturally wholesome and healthy; and

WHEREAS there are numerous outstanding issues regarding public policy, fair trade, and the social and economic consequences of farmed fish production; and

WHEREAS more and more consumers are expressing a preference for, and requesting, wild fish over farmed fish; and

WHEREAS both the Alaska State Legislature and the United States Congress have passed labeling laws specifically to inform consumers about fish and shellfish and other food products; and

WHEREAS the United States Department of Agriculture has exempted processed

food items from federal country of origin labeling requirements; and

WHEREAS many Alaska fish and shellfish readily available to Americans are canned, smoked, cured, or cooked without significantly changing the nature of the fish or shellfish;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature supports the timely labeling of fish and shellfish in the marketplace to identify the country of origin and to distinguish between wild and farmed fish and shellfish; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature supports adding labeling requirements for canned, smoked, cured, or cooked fish and shellfish to identify the country of origin of the fish and shellfish and to distinguish between wild and farmed fish and shellfish.

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable George W. Bush, President of the United States; the Honorable Carlos Gutierrez, United States Secretary of Commerce; the Honorable Mike Johanns, United States Secretary of Agriculture; and the Honorable Ted Stevens and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.