STATE OF ALASKA THE LEGISLATURE

2003

Source SJR 16 Legislative Resolve No.

Enrolled SJR 16



Encouraging the federal government to end the federal subsidy of ethanol, and requesting the Congress of the United States to mandate that land currently used to grow corn for the production of ethanol be returned to its natural state.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

WHEREAS it is usually inappropriate for one state to interfere in the resource development of another state; and

WHEREAS California, Florida, Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Washington, and Wisconsin are among the top 20 states that produce ethanol; and

WHEREAS both United States Senators who represent those states voted against including revenue from oil production in the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge in S.Con.Res. 23, the fast-track budget reconciliation bill in the United States Senate, thereby interfering with the resource development of Alaska; and

WHEREAS 6.2 percent of the nation's corn crop is used to produce ethanol; and

WHEREAS growth of the federal budget deficit is harmful to the nation's economy; and

WHEREAS the federal government subsidizes the production of ethanol at 5.3 cents a

gallon, resulting in a reduction in federal excise tax receipts of over \$1,000,000,000 during fiscal year 2002, and resulting in a loss to the Federal Highway Trust Fund between 1979 and 2000 of between \$7,500,000,000 and \$11,000,000,000; and

WHEREAS the cost of that subsidy is expected to grow each year; and

WHEREAS 49 percent of ethanol is produced by four corporations, and 35 percent is produced by Archer Daniels Midland alone, causing the federal ethanol subsidy to be a corporate welfare program imposed on consumers and drivers across the nation; and

WHEREAS the federal mandate for oxygenated fuels has increased gasoline prices across the country; and

WHEREAS the use of ethanol leads to emissions of acetaldehyde, a toxic air pollutant, and to carbon dioxide, the primary greenhouse gas; and

WHEREAS the National Research Council recently concluded that including ethanol in gasoline may have little overall impact on reducing ozone formation; and

WHEREAS ethanol leads to a decrease of approximately three percent in vehicle energy efficiency; and

WHEREAS it takes nearly as much energy from fossil fuels to produce ethanol as the ethanol supplies, even if efficient methods of farming and production are used; and

WHEREAS the General Accounting Office has concluded that the ethanol tax incentive has done little to promote energy security; and

WHEREAS the corn grown to produce ethanol is grown on lands that were once wild, supporting many species of animals, insects, plants, and birds; and

WHEREAS those who value wilderness and natural lands gather solace in knowing Alaska's resources are not being developed for profit, for the good of Alaska's people, or for national energy security;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature encourages the federal government to end the federal subsidy of ethanol; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature requests the Congress of the United States to mandate that land currently used to grow corn used for the production of ethanol be returned to its natural state for the enjoyment of those Alaskans who might choose to travel to these areas and for the benefit of the environment.

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable George W. Bush, President

of the United States; the Honorable Spencer Abraham, United States Secretary of Energy; the Honorable Thad Cochran, Chair, U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry; the Honorable Pete Domenici, Chair, U.S. Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources; the Honorable James Inhofe, Chair, U.S. Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works; the Honorable Bob Goodlatte, Chair, U.S. House Committee on Agriculture; the Honorable W. J. "Billy" Tauzin, Chair, U.S. House Committee on Energy and Commerce; the Honorable Richard Pombo, Chair, U.S. House Committee on Resources; the Honorable Barbara Boxer and the Honorable Dianne Feinstein, U.S. Senators from California; the Honorable Bob Graham and the Honorable Bill Nelson, U.S. Senators from Florida; the Honorable Richard Durbin and the Honorable Peter Fitzgerald, U.S. Senators from Illinois; the Honorable Carl Levin and the Honorable Debbie Stabenow, U.S. Senators from Michigan; the Honorable Norm Coleman and the Honorable Mark Dayton, U.S. Senators from Minnesota; the Honorable Kent Conrad and the Honorable Byron Dorgan, U.S. Senators from North Dakota; the Honorable Tom Daschle and the Honorable Tim Johnson, U.S. Senators from South Dakota; the Honorable Maria Cantwell and the Honorable Patty Murray, U.S. Senators from Washington; and the Honorable Russell Feingold and the Honorable Herb Kohl, U.S. Senators from Wisconsin; the Governors and Legislatures of the States of California, Florida, Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Washington, and Wisconsin; and to the Honorable Ted Stevens and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.