STATE OF ALASKA THE LEGISLATURE

2003

Source HCS CSSCR 4(STA) am H Legislative Resolve No.

7



Relating to Avalanche Awareness Month.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

WHEREAS Alaskans live, work, and play in and on the edge of the wilderness; and WHEREAS Alaskans spend twice as much time enjoying the abundance and variety of Alaska's winter recreational opportunities as most other Americans spend in winter recreational activities; and

WHEREAS many of the state's popular winter recreation areas are subject to avalanche danger; and

WHEREAS many Alaskans are not properly educated or equipped to recognize and respond to avalanches; and

WHEREAS Alaska has the highest avalanche death rate per capita in the nation; over 70 Alaskans have died in Alaska avalanches since 1968, and 28 have perished since 1999; and

WHEREAS education on the recognition of avalanche risks, response to avalanches, and the use of appropriate equipment could reduce avalanche-related tragedies that create undue hardships and great personal loss for families and communities;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature proclaims the month of November as Avalanche Awareness Month; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature urges schools, community groups, and other public and private agencies and individuals to observe Avalanche Awareness Month with appropriate activities that increase the public's awareness of avalanche dangers, how to respond to avalanches, and the use of appropriate equipment in avalanche areas.

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Frank Murkowski, Governor; to Aedene Arthur, Backcountry Avalanche Awareness and Response Team; to Doug Fesler and Jill Fredston, co-directors, The Alaska Mountain Safety Center, Inc.; to Bill Glude, Southeast Alaska Avalanche Center; to the Honorable William Tandeske, Commissioner, Department of Public Safety; to the director, Division of Alaska State Troopers, Alaska Department of Public Safety; to the mayors, chiefs of police, and fire chiefs of the Municipality of Anchorage, Fairbanks North Star Borough, Denali Borough, Haines Borough, City and Borough of Juneau, Ketchikan Gateway Borough, Matanuska-Susitna Borough, City and Borough of Sitka, City of Cordova, City of Fairbanks, City of Palmer, City of Petersburg, City of Seward, City of Skagway, City of Valdez, and City of Wasilla; to the operators of the ski areas at Eaglecrest, Alyeska, Alpenglow, Hilltop, Moose Mountain, Ski Land, Birch Hill, and Cordova Ski Hill; to the operators of the Alaska Trail Blazers, Inc.; and to legislative communication offices for statewide distribution.