STATE OF ALASKA THE LEGISLATURE

2004

Source CSHJR 41(RES) **Legislative Resolve No.**56



Relating to support for the Federal Land Recreational Visitor Protection Act.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

WHEREAS winter recreation activities are an integral part of the Alaska way of life; and

WHEREAS many of the state's popular winter recreation areas are subject to avalanche danger; and

WHEREAS highway, city, and railroad maintenance crews, power plant and line workers, loggers, rescue personnel, ski patrollers, and guides are frequently exposed to avalanche danger when houses, highways, and facilities are located in avalanche zones; and

WHEREAS Alaska has the highest avalanche death rate per capita in the nation; and

WHEREAS Alaska contains approximately 54,000,000 acres of national parks, which are visited by thousands of people for winter recreation; and

WHEREAS avalanche danger is a true risk in our national parks to both Alaskans and visitors; and

WHEREAS there is no avalanche forecasting in most areas of Alaska; and WHEREAS Senators Stevens and Murkowski along with senators of other Western

states have introduced S. 931, the Federal Land Recreational Visitor Protection Act of 2003; and

WHEREAS S. 931 directs the United States Secretary of the Interior to establish a coordinated avalanche control program in the National Park System to increase the safety of visitors, recreational users, neighboring communities, and transportation corridors; and

WHEREAS S. 931 provides for grant funding to assist in the prevention, forecasting, detection, and mitigation of avalanches;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature supports efforts by the Alaska congressional delegation to pass the Federal Land Recreational Visitor Protection Act of 2003.

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Gale Norton, United States Secretary of the Interior; the Honorable Pete V. Domenici, Chair, and the Honorable Jeff Bingaman, Ranking Member, U.S. Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources; and to the Honorable Ted Stevens and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.