STATE OF ALASKA THE LEGISLATURE

2003

Source SCS CSHJR 18(STA) Legislative Resolve No.

8



Supporting the men and women of the United States armed forces.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

WHEREAS the men and women of the United States armed forces are currently engaged in military action in Iraq; and

WHEREAS the government of Saddam Hussein has posed a threat to national security and world peace for many years, attacking other nations and breaching international laws and understandings; and

WHEREAS Iraq has not only attacked other nations, it has used chemical weapons of mass destruction against its own Kurdish population; and

WHEREAS Iraq has failed to comply with the United Nations Security Council unanimously adopted Resolution 1441, calling for it to declare any weapons of mass destruction programs within its borders; and

WHEREAS Iraq has attempted to shoot down surveillance planes patrolling the nofly zone imposed by the United Nations; and

WHEREAS the men and women of the United States and coalition armed forces are

sacrificing their personal safety for freedom for Iraqi people and peace in the region; and

WHEREAS the United States and coalition armed forces are prepared to make the ultimate sacrifice; and

WHEREAS the United States and coalition forces are leaving their families to travel halfway around the world to assist in bringing peace to a country that has, for many years, only known tyranny;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature expresses its support for President George W. Bush as this nation is engaged in combat; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature expresses its support to the men and women of the United States and coalition armed forces who are currently involved in Operation Iraqi Freedom and other such operations around the world.

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Tony Blair, Prime Minister of the United Kingdom; the Honorable George W. Bush, President of the United States; the Honorable Richard B. Cheney, Vice-President of the United States and President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Bill Frist, Majority Leader of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Thomas Daschle, Minority Leader of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable J. Dennis Hastert, Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives; the Honorable Nancy Pelosi, Minority Leader of the U.S. House of Representatives; General Tommy Franks, Commander-in-Chief, U.S. Central Command; and to the Honorable Ted Stevens and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.