## STATE OF ALASKA THE LEGISLATURE

## 2003

Source SCS CSHCR 21(FIN) Legislative Resolve No.



Relating to establishing the Alaska Energy Policy Task Force.

## BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

WHEREAS an adequate, reliable, reasonably priced, and safe supply of electric energy is a basic necessity; and

WHEREAS other infrastructure elements such as water, wastewater, transportation, and telecommunications systems are dependent on an adequate, reliable, reasonably priced, and safe supply of energy; and

WHEREAS meaningful economic development and technological advancement cannot occur in Alaska without an adequate, reliable, safe, and reasonably priced energy supply; and

WHEREAS over 85 percent of the state's electrical consumption occurs in the Railbelt; and

WHEREAS the needs of the non-Railbelt areas of the state include more electrical infrastructure and less expensive power; and

WHEREAS it would be beneficial to examine how electricity is generated,

transmitted, and distributed in Alaska in order to meet the state's existing and future electrical needs in the safest and most efficient manner; and

WHEREAS the financial resources of the state are limited;

**BE IT RESOLVED** that the Alaska State Legislature establishes the Alaska Energy Policy Task Force to review and analyze the state's current and long-term energy needs; and be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED** that the task force shall consider how best to incorporate state-owned Railbelt energy assets as part of the solution for the Railbelt's current and long-term electrical needs; and be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED** that the task force shall also address those elements of the state's long-term energy needs that can be solved through action on the part of industry, government, or both industry and government working together, such as through pooling and integrated resource planning; and be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED** that the task force shall develop a long-term energy plan for Alaska that will efficiently enhance the state's economic future; and be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED** that the task force shall be composed of nine members as follows:

(1) one member from the directors of the Alaska Energy Authority, selected by the directors;

(2) the commissioner of revenue or the commissioner's designee;

(3) two members chosen by the governor who are not members of the legislature;

(4) three members chosen by the president of the senate who are not members of the legislature, one of whom must be from a list of three names proposed jointly by the minority leaders of the house of representatives and the senate, and the appointment from the list shall be made after consultation with the speaker of the house of representatives;

(5) two members chosen by the speaker of the house of representatives who are not members of the legislature; and be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED** that members shall be chosen in such a manner that a utility will not have more than one representative on the task force, but at least one member will be from a Railbelt electrical utility, and at least one member will be from a non-Railbelt

Enrolled HCR 21

electrical utility; and be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED** that the members of the task force shall select a chair from among themselves; and be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED** that task force members who are not state employees are entitled to per diem and travel expenses as for members of boards and commissions under AS 39.20.180; and be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED** that a staff member and other resources shall be provided to the task force, as necessary, by the legislature; and be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED** that the task force shall submit a report of its findings regarding a Railbelt energy plan to the legislature by December 31, 2003, and may make any interim reports on Railbelt energy issues it considers advisable; and be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED** that the task force shall submit reports of its finding regarding energy plans for areas of the state other than the Railbelt to the legislature by March 31, 2004, and may make any interim reports it considers advisable; and be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED** that the task force is terminated at 11:59 p.m. on April 15, 2004.