## STATE OF ALASKA THE LEGISLATURE

## 2003

**Source**<u>CSHCR 11(FSH)</u> am

**Legislative Resolve No.** 15



Relating to Alaska Wild Salmon Week, June 30 - July 4, 2003.

## BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

WHEREAS the State of Alaska has rebuilt salmon runs from levels during latter territorial days when fisheries were under federal control; and

**WHEREAS** the Alaska wild salmon fishery today constitutes the largest commercial wild salmon fishery in the world, employing more than 29,000 people and having a product value of more than \$272,000,000 in 2001; and

WHEREAS Alaska wild salmon shall be managed by maximum sustained yield principles to ensure future runs, ongoing sport, commercial, and subsistence fishing industries, and employment for Alaskans; and

WHEREAS Alaska wild salmon is certified as sustainable by the Marine Stewardship Council and the Alaska Department of Fish and Game; and

WHEREAS Alaska wild salmon and its habitats are protected to maintain resource productivity; and

WHEREAS the individual harvesting of Alaska wild salmon is an important Alaska

tradition with immeasurable economic and personal benefits for hundreds of thousands of Alaskans; and

WHEREAS Alaska wild salmon has historically provided sustenance for generations in our state through traditional subsistence and personal use harvest; and

**WHEREAS** Alaska wild salmon is recognized as a healthy, nutritious food resource rich in Omega 3 oils and other vital nutrients; and

WHEREAS the Alaska wild salmon fishery supports community economies throughout Alaska;

**BE IT RESOLVED** that the Alaska State Legislature designates the week of June 30 - July 4, 2003, as Alaska Wild Salmon Week, and calls on the people of Alaska to observe the week by participating in activities focusing on the catching and eating of salmon.

**COPIES** of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Frank Murkowski, Governor; Ray Riutta, Executive Director, Alaska Seafood Marketing Institute; and to the Honorable Ted Stevens and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.