CS FOR SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 43(STA)(title am)

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

TWENTY-SECOND LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION

BY THE SENATE STATE AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

Amended: 4/24/02 Offered: 4/8/02

Sponsor(s): SENATE FINANCE COMMITTEE

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Requesting the United States Congress to grant a two-year moratorium on state
- 2 maintenance of effort requirements for federally funded programs.

3 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

- 4 WHEREAS the economic effects of the terrorists attack on our country on
- 5 September 11, 2001, have contributed to major shortfalls in state revenues and increases in
- 6 state expenditures; and
- 7 WHEREAS Medicare and Medicaid costs have risen causing states serious budgeting
- 8 problems; and
- 9 WHEREAS states are striving to reallocate available funds to address this economic
- 10 situation; and
- 11 WHEREAS the requirements for maintenance of state effort under certain federal
- 12 programs denies states the opportunity to reduce or reallocate a large share of state
- 13 expenditures; and
- WHEREAS states must have this flexibility to develop budgets that truly address and
- meet important state needs;

1	BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature respectfully requests the United
2	States Congress to grant a two-year moratorium on state maintenance of effort requirements
3	for federally funded programs so that states may have more flexibility to address priorities
4	and to react to the fiscal situation.
5	COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the presiding officers of the legislatures of
6	each of the other 49 states; the Honorable Thomas Daschle, Majority Leader of the U.S.
7	Senate; the Honorable Trent Lott, Minority Leader of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable J.
8	Dennis Hastert, Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives; the Honorable Richard A.
9	Gephardt, Minority Leader of the U.S. House of Representatives; the Honorable Ted Stevens
10	and the Honorable Frank Murkowski, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S.

Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.

11