SENATE CS FOR CS FOR HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 23(STA)

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

TWENTY-SECOND LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION

BY THE SENATE STATE AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

Offered: 5/4/01 Referred: Rules

Sponsor(s): HOUSE STATE AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

A RESOLUTION

1 Advocating the retention of the electoral college system in its present form.

2 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

3 **WHEREAS** the founding fathers, through deliberation and compromise, devised the 4 electoral college to answer the nation's need for an effective voting mechanism in the 5 presidential selection process; and

6 WHEREAS the electoral college, as provided for in the Constitution of the United 7 States, provides for a proper system of checks and balances in the election of the president 8 and vice-president; and

9 WHEREAS the electoral college prevents any one region of the nation from 10 dominating a presidential election; and

- WHEREAS Alaska represents one-fifth of the total land mass in the United States,
 but has only approximately 480,000 registered voters and three electoral votes; and
- WHEREAS the electoral college is based upon republican principles which provide
 the foundation for this nation's constitutional system; and
- 15 WHEREAS any attempt to modify the current electoral college would jeopardize a 16 secure system which has been effective for over two hundred years in providing for a peaceful

1 transition of presidential power; and

2 WHEREAS the electoral college brings a conclusion to the presidential election 3 process;

4 **BE IT RESOLVED** that the Alaska State Legislature advocates that no amendments 5 or other modifications be made to the electoral college system and that the electoral college be 6 continued in its present form for all future presidential elections.

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable George W. Bush, President of the United States; the Honorable Colin Powell, United States Secretary of State; the Honorable John Ashcroft, Attorney General of the United States; the Honorable J. Dennis Hastert, Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives; the Honorable Trent Lott, Majority Leader of the U.S. Senate; and to the Honorable Ted Stevens and the Honorable Frank Murkowski, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.