CS FOR HOUSE BILL NO. 207(RLS)

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

TWENTY-SECOND LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION

BY THE HOUSE RULES COMMITTEE

Offered: 3/26/02 Referred: Rules

Sponsor(s): REPRESENTATIVES KAPSNER, Foster

A BILL

FOR AN ACT ENTITLED

- "An Act moving election district 24 as described in the Constitution of the State of
 Alaska at statehood from the Second Judicial District to the Fourth Judicial District and
- 3 adding the Nabesna area to the Third Judicial District and removing it from the Fourth
- 4 Judicial District."

5 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

- * **Section 1.** AS 22.10.010 is amended to read:
- Sec. 22.10.010. Establishment of superior court. There shall be one superior court for the state. The court shall consist of four districts bounded as follows:
- First District: the area within election districts numbered one to six, both inclusive, as those districts are described in art. XIV of the state constitution on March 19, 1959;
- Second District: the area within election districts numbered 21 to <u>23</u> [24], both inclusive, and those areas of election districts 18 and 20 within the boundaries of the

North Slope Borough, as those districts are described in art. XIV of the state constitution on March 19, 1959;

Third District: the area within election districts numbered seven to 15, both inclusive, as those districts are described in art. XIV of the state constitution on March 19, 1959, and the portion of election district 19, as that district is described in art. XIV of the state constitution on March 19, 1959, that is in the Glennallen Venue District on March 1, 2002, described as follows: Beginning at a point on the divide between the watersheds of the Tanana River and the Copper River south of the headwaters of Totschunda Creek; thence southwesterly in a straight line first crossing the Nabesna River to Mt. Allen; thence meandering on the divide mountain peak to mountain peak to a point north of Regal Mountain on the divide separating the Nabesna Glacier from the Chisana Glacier; thence westerly and northwesterly along the divide between the watersheds of the Tanana River and Copper River as it meanders from mountain peak to mountain peak to a point on the divide south of the headwaters of the Totschunda Creek, the place of the beginning; and

Fourth District: the area within election districts numbered 16, 17, and 24 [19], [AND] the areas of election districts numbered 18 and 20 not included in the second district, and the area of election district numbered 19 not included in the third district, as those districts are described in art. XIV of the state constitution on March 19, 1959.

* Sec. 2. The uncodified law of the State of Alaska is amended by adding a new section to read:

TRANSITION. (a) A district court judge, magistrate, clerk, or other employee of the Second Judicial District located within election district 24 on the day before the effective date of this Act shall, on the effective date of this Act, be a judge, magistrate, clerk, or employee of the Fourth Judicial District.

(b) A district court judge, magistrate, clerk, or other employee of the Fourth Judicial District located within the portion of election district 19 on the day before the effective date of this Act added to the Third Judicial District in sec. 1 of this Act shall, on the effective date of this Act, be a judge, magistrate, clerk, or employee of the Third Judicial District.