HOUSE CS FOR CS FOR SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 18(0&G) am H

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

TWENTY-FIRST LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION

BY THE HOUSE SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON OIL AND GAS

Amended: 3/28/00 Offered: 3/3/00

Sponsor(s): SENATORS LINCOLN, Elton, Ellis

REPRESENTATIVES Kerttula, Smalley, Berkowitz, James, Cissna

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Requesting Exxon Mobil Corporation to pay claimants for court-ordered damages
- 2 resulting from the Exxon Valdez oil spill.
- 3 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:
- **WHEREAS**, on March 24, 1989, at 12:04 a.m., the oil tanker Exxon Valdez grounded
- 5 on Bligh Reef in Prince William Sound resulting in a spill of 11,000,000 gallons of North
- 6 Slope crude oil along Alaska's shoreline; and
- 7 WHEREAS, immediately following the spill, executives of Exxon Corporation
- 8 promised the residents of the state that they would make Alaska whole again; and
- 9 WHEREAS the oil spill killed or affected seabirds, sea otters, harbor seals, bald
- 10 eagles, killer whales, salmon and herring eggs, and many tidal plants and animals, and has
- 11 caused long-term damage to the environment of Prince William Sound; and
- WHEREAS the oil spill affected many communities; commercial, subsistence, and
- 13 sport fishermen; tourism operators; subsistence gatherers; large and small businesses; and
- 14 others in the area; and
- WHEREAS, on September 16, 1994, an Alaska jury in the federal district court
- 16 returned verdicts against Exxon Corporation to help compensate those affected by the spill;

- 1 the verdicts provided for payment of damages in the amount of nearly \$5,300,000,000, of
- 2 which \$5,000,000,000 represents an award of punitive damages; and
- **WHEREAS**, between 1994 and 1996, the federal district court judge denied numerous
- 4 motions by Exxon Corporation to overturn or adjust the verdicts, and the corporation continues
- 5 to file motions that delay settlement of the case; and
- **6 WHEREAS**, between 1996 and today, Exxon Corporation filed two motions for new
- 7 trials that were denied by the federal court; and
- **8 WHEREAS** oral arguments were held on May 3, 1999, on Exxon Corporation's appeal
- 9 of the denial for its second motion for a new trial and, pending the outcome of this appeal,
- 10 the company may file a petition for further review to the United States Supreme Court; and
- WHEREAS Exxon Corporation has prospered financially in the 11 years since the oil
- 12 spill and has merged with Mobil Corporation to create the largest corporation in the world;
- **13** and
- **WHEREAS**, 11 years after the oil spill and five years after the damage judgment,
- 15 40,000 claimants are still waiting for payment of compensatory and punitive damages; 500
- 16 claimants have died since 1989; and
- WHEREAS the majority of the claimants who are owed compensatory and punitive
- 18 damages are working men and women with families, homes, mortgages, and financial
- **19** obligations; and
- WHEREAS the petroleum industry plays a vital role in providing revenue,
- 21 employment, and economic stability for the state; and
- WHEREAS the Alaska State Legislature has encouraged development of the petroleum
- 23 industry through incentives and partnerships; and
- **WHEREAS**, in order to foster partnerships between Exxon Mobil Corporation and the
- 25 people of Alaska, Exxon Mobil Corporation must make good on its promise to make Alaska
- 26 whole again, and pay its debt to the people of Alaska as prescribed by the court.
- 27 BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature urges the Exxon Mobil
- 28 Corporation to immediately pay the compensatory damages awarded in the court-ordered
- 29 judgment, and to pay the punitive damages, if affirmed by the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals,
- 30 without further delay or appeal.
- 31 COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Bill Clinton, President of the

- 1 United States; the Honorable Al Gore, Jr., Vice-President of the United States and President
- 2 of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Janet Reno, Attorney General of the United States; the
- 3 Honorable J. Dennis Hastert, Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives; the Honorable
- 4 Trent Lott, Majority Leader of the U.S. Senate; Robert Pitofsky, Chairman of the Federal
- 5 Trade Commission; Richard G. Parker, Director, Bureau of Competition, Federal Trade
- 6 Commission; the Honorable Ted Stevens and the Honorable Frank Murkowski, U.S. Senators,
- 7 the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in
- 8 Congress; and Lee R. Raymond, Chairman, Chief Executive Officer, and President of Exxon
- **9** Mobil Corporation.