## SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 14 am H

## IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

## TWENTIETH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION

BY SENATORS HALFORD, Green, Taylor, Leman, Miller, Sharp, Mackie

REPRESENTATIVE James

**Amended:** 5/2/97 **Introduced:** 2/5/97

## A RESOLUTION

- 1 Relating to support for federal legislation permitting state concealed handgun
- 2 permittees to carry concealed handguns in other states.
- 3 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:
- **WHEREAS**, in 1994, residents of the state were allowed to receive permits to carry
- 5 concealed handguns for their personal protection and defense and to effectuate the rights
- 6 guaranteed to those residents under the Second Amendment to the United States Constitution
- 7 and art. I, sec. 19, of the Constitution of the State of Alaska; and
- **8** WHEREAS many states have provided their residents with the authority to carry
- 9 concealed handguns as this state has; and
- WHEREAS this need and desire for personal protection and defense does not end at
- 11 the borders of the state of a person's residence; and
- WHEREAS there is only limited and haphazard reciprocity allowing concealed
- 13 handgun permittees of one state to carry a concealed handgun or receive a permit to carry a
- 14 concealed handgun in another state; and
- 15 WHEREAS H.R. 339 has been introduced in the United States House of
- 16 Representatives to allow concealed handgun permittees of one state to carry concealed

SJR014b -1- SJR 14 am H

- 1 handguns in each of the other states;
- 2 BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature supports H.R. 339 that
- 3 effectuates the citizens' rights to bear arms for their personal protection and defense and urges
- 4 that it be passed by both the United States House of Representatives and the United States
- 5 Senate as soon as possible in the 105th Congress.
- 6 COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Ted Stevens and the
- 7 Honorable Frank Murkowski, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S.
- **8** Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.

SJR 14 am H -2- SJR014b