SENATE CS FOR HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 57(STA)

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

TWENTIETH LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION

BY THE SENATE STATE AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

Offered: 5/6/98 Referred: Rules

Sponsor(s): REPRESENTATIVES GREEN, Kohring, James, Austerman

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Relating to an amendment to the Constitution of the United States prohibiting
- 2 federal courts from ordering a state or a political subdivision of a state to
- 3 increase or impose taxes.
- 4 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:
- 5 WHEREAS federal courts have ordered a state or political subdivision of a state to
- 6 levy or increase taxes; and
- 7 WHEREAS such an order violates fundamental principles of separation of powers
- 8 under which the legislative branch is charged with the enactment of laws; and
- 9 WHEREAS such an order, coming from a federal court, severely undermines the
- 10 independence of each of the states;
- 11 BE IT RESOLVED by the Alaska State Legislature that the Congress of the United
- 12 States is requested to prepare and present to the legislatures of all the states an amendment
- 13 to the Constitution of the United States that would prohibit a federal court from ordering a
- 14 state or political subdivision of a state to increase or impose taxes in substantially the
- 15 following language:
- Neither the Supreme Court nor any inferior court of the United

HJR057C -1- SCS HJR 57(STA)

1 States shall have the power to instruct or order a state or 2 political subdivision thereof, or an official of such state or 3 political subdivision, to levy or increase taxes. 4 and be it; 5 FURTHER RESOLVED that this resolution constitutes a continuing application in 6 accordance with Article V, Constitution of the United States, and that the legislatures of all 7 the states are invited to join with Alaska to secure ratification of the proposed amendment. 8 **COPIES** of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Bill Clinton, President of the 9 United States; the Honorable Al Gore, Jr., Vice-President of the United States and President **10** of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Strom Thurmond, President Pro Tempore of the U.S. 11 Senate; the Honorable Newt Gingrich, Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives; to the 12 Honorable Ted Stevens and the Honorable Frank Murkowski, U.S. Senators, and the 13 Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress; 14 and to the governors and presiding officers of the houses of the legislatures of each of 15 Alaska's sister states.