SENATE CS FOR HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 52(RES)

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

TWENTIETH LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION

BY THE SENATE RESOURCES COMMITTEE

Offered: 4/7/98 Referred: Rules

Sponsor(s): REPRESENTATIVES JAMES, Barnes, Therriault, Austerman, Ogan, Green, Hodgins, Rokeberg, Williams, Ryan

SENATORS Pearce, Kelly, Ward, Halford, Sharp, Taylor, Torgerson, Green, Leman, Miller

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Relating to opposition to the designation of any rivers in Alaska as American
- 2 Heritage Rivers under the American Heritage Rivers initiative.
- 3 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:
- **4 WHEREAS** the President of the United States has by Executive Order 13061 created
- 5 the American Heritage Rivers initiative; and
- 6 WHEREAS the initiative allows a local river community to nominate its river for
- 7 designation by the President as an American Heritage River; and
- **8** WHEREAS the initiative provides no meaningful protection of state or private
- 9 property along designated rivers; and
- WHEREAS the initiative creates a new layer of federal bureaucracy and engages 12
- 11 federal agencies in its implementation;
- BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature opposes any attempt by the
- 13 federal government to further designate or label state property in Alaska or to further
- 14 federalize public land in Alaska; and be it
- 15 FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature opposes the nomination or
- 16 designation of any river in Alaska as an American Heritage River under the American

HJR052B -1- SCS HJR 52(RES)

- **1** Heritage Rivers initiative.
- **COPIES** of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Bill Clinton, President of the
- 3 United States; the Honorable Al Gore, Jr., Vice-President of the United States and President
- 4 of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Strom Thurmond, President Pro Tempore of the U.S.
- 5 Senate; the Honorable Newt Gingrich, Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives; Kathleen
- 6 A. McGinty, Chair of the Council on Environmental Quality; and to the Honorable Ted
- 7 Stevens and the Honorable Frank Murkowski, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young,
- **8** U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.