CS FOR SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 13(CRA)

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

NINETEENTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION

BY THE SENATE COMMUNITY AND REGIONAL AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

Offered: 4/29/95 Referred: Rules

Sponsor(s): SENATORS LINCOLN, Green, Salo, Pearce, Adams, Sharp, Taylor, Frank, Miller, Ellis,

Zharoff, Duncan, Torgerson, Rieger, Leman, Halford, Kelly

REPRESENTATIVES Robinson, Nicholia, B.Davis

A RESOLUTION

1 Recognizing the women who have served Alaska as state or territorial legislators

2 and celebrating 100 years of women serving as state legislators.

3 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

4 WHEREAS the National Foundation for Women Legislators, Inc., which serves as the

5 educational arm of the National Order of Women Legislators, the oldest professional

6 association for women legislators in the country, is coordinating state, regional, and national

7 celebrations to commemorate the 100 years that women have served in state legislatures; and

8 WHEREAS, in January 1895, the first three women were sworn in to serve as state

9 legislators, before American women even had the universal right to vote; and

WHEREAS this centennial is being celebrated through the United States to promote

11 public knowledge and awareness of women in state history; and

WHEREAS the following women are current or past members of the Alaska State

13 Legislature or the Alaska Territorial Legislature:

14 Awes, Dorothy J. Territorial House (3rd Division) 1957

15 Banfield, Mildred H. State Senate (District D, appointed) 1963-1965

16 State House (District 4) 1967-1975

SCR013B -1- CSSCR 13(CRA)

1	Barnes, Doris M.	Territorial House (1st Division)	1949, 1951
2		Territorial Senate (1st Division)	1953, 1955
3	Barnes, Ramona L.	State House (District 10, 14-A, 22)	1979-1985; 1987-present
4	Beirne, Helen D.	State House (District 8, 10, 11)	1969-1971; 1973-1977
5	Branson, Margaret	State House (District 5)	1979-1981
6	Brown, Kay	State House (District 12-A)	1987-present
7	Bruckman, Betty	State House (District 8-A)	1991-1993
8	Buchholdt, Thelma	State House (District 9)	1975-1983
9	Bullock, Edith	Territorial House (2nd Division)	1953, 1955
10		Territorial Senate (2nd Division)	1957
11	Cato, Bette M.	State House (District 5, 6)	1981-1989 (resigned)
12	Chance, Genie	State House (District 8, 7)	1969-1975
13		State Senate (District E)	1975-1977
14	Collins, Virginia M.	State House (District 10-B)	1985-1991
15		State Senate (District F-B)	1991-1993
16	Craft, Shirley	State Senate (District K-B, appointed)	1991-1993
17	Cross, Bess	Territorial House (2nd Division)	1945
18	Dale, Essie	Territorial House (4th Division)	1949
19	Davis, Bettye	State House (District 14-B, 21)	1991-present
20	Davis, Cheri	State House (District 1-B)	1989-1993
21	DeVries, Edna B.	State Senate (District E-B)	1985-1987
22	Dimock, Barbara	Territorial House (3rd Division)	1953
23	Engstrom, Thelma	Territorial House (1st Division)	1947
24	Fahrenkamp, Bettye M.	State Senate (District O, K-B)	1979-1991(died)
25	Faiks, Jan	State Senate (District E, F-B)	1983-1991
26	Fischer, Helen M.	State House (District 10, 8, 12)	1959-1961; 1971-1976
27			(resigned)
28		Territorial House (3rd Division)	1957
29	Garnick, Anita	Territorial House (1st Division)	1947
30		Territorial Senate (1st Division)	1949, 1951
31	Green, Lyda	State Senate (District N)	1995-present

CSSCR 13(CRA) -2- SCR013B

1	Gunderson, Amelia	Territorial House (1st Division)	1949, 1951
2	Hanley, Alyce	State House (District 9-B)	1985-1991
3	Herrmann, Adelheid	State House (District 26)	1983-1989
4	Hurley, Katie	State House (District 16-A)	1985-1987
5	Itta, Brenda T.	State House (District 21)	1975-1977
6	James, Jeannette	State House (District 34)	1993-present
7	Jenne, Crystal	Territorial House (1st Division)	1941, 1943
8	Johnson, Grace A.	State House (District 23, appointed)	1962-1963
9	Kelley, Ramona M.	State House (District 8)	1975-1977
10	Lacher, Barbara	State House (District 16)	1983-1985
11	Lincoln, Georgianna	State House (District 24)	1991-1993
12		State Senate (District R)	1993-present
13	Linck, Alaska	Territorial House (4th Division)	1943, 1945
14	Little, Suzanne	State Senate (District D)	1993-1995
15	MacLean, Eileen Panigeo	State House (District 22, 37)	1989-present
16	Masek, Beverly	State House (District 28)	1995-present
17	McSmith, Blanche L.	State House (District 10, appointed)	1960-1961
18	Miller, Jo Ann	State House (District 7)	1973-1975
19	Miller, Mary	State House (District 15-A)	1991-1993
20	Munson, Joyce	State House (District 11)	1979-1981
21	Nicholia, Irene	State House (District 36)	1993-present
22	Ostrosky, Kathryn	State House (District 7)	1975-1977
23	Pearce, Drue	State House (District 9-A)	1985-1989
24		State Senate (District G-A, F)	1989-present
25	Phillips, Gail	State House (District 5-B, 7)	1991-present
26	Pinkerton, Lucille	State House (District 1)	1965-1967
27	Poland, Kathryn "Kay"	State Senate (District G, L, appointed in 1970,	
28		elected in 1971)	1970-1979
29	Prior, Dorothy	Territorial House (3rd Division)	1953
30	Robinson, Caren	State House (District 4)	1995-present
31	Rudd, Lisa	State House (District 11, appointed in 1976,	

SCR013B -3- CSSCR 13(CRA)

1		elected in 1977)	1976-1979		
2	Ryan, Irene E.	State Senate (District E)	1959-1961		
3		Territorial House (3rd Division)	1955, 1957		
4	Salo, Judy	State House (District 5-B, appointed)	1990-1991		
5		State Senate (District E)	1993-present		
6	Scott, Nell	Territorial House (3rd Division)	1937		
7	Smith, Sarah J. "Sally"	State House (District 20)	1977-1983		
8	Spohnholz, Ann M.	State House (District 13-A, interim appointee)	1989		
9	Sturgulewski, Arliss	State Senate (District H, F-A)	1979-1993		
10	Sullivan, Susan	State House (District 8)	1975-1977		
11	Sweeney, Dora M.	State House (District 5, 4)	1959-1965		
12		Territorial House (1st Division)	1955		
13	Tischer, Mae	State House (District 11)	1983-1985		
14	Toohey, Cynthia	State House (District 13)	1993-present		
15	Ulmer, Fran	State House (District 4-B)	1987-1994		
16	Wallis, F. Kay	State House (District 24)	1985-1991; and		
17	WHEREAS these women have represented their communities and the state with				
18	diligence and enthusiasm; and				
19	WHEREAS the knowledge, expertise, and wise leadership of these women have been				
20	and continue to be valuable tools to carry Alaska into the 21st century; and				
21	WHEREAS these women deserve recognition for their outstanding contributions to				
22	the state and their accomplishments as America's true "timeless pioneers";				
23	BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature extends its sincerest appreciation				
24	to all of the women who have unselfishly served Alaska as state or territorial legislators, and				
25	recognizes and joins in the 100th Year Celebration of Women in State Legislatures.				
26	COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the legislators identified in this resolution				
27	or to the families of those legislators who are deceased, and to the National Foundation for				
28	Women Legislators, Inc.				

CSSCR 13(CRA) -4- SCR013B