### SENATE CS FOR HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 42(RLS)

### IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

NINETEENTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION

BY THE SENATE RULES COMMITTEE

Offered: 5/12/95 Referred: Today's Calendar

Sponsor(s): HOUSE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

# A **RESOLUTION**

## 1 Relating to regulation of water carriers serving Alaska.

# 2 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

WHEREAS the federal government is considering legislation that would repeal the
existing authority of the Interstate Commerce Commission to regulate water carriers
transporting property between the 48 contiguous states and Alaska; and

6 WHEREAS Alaska is uniquely dependent on water transportation in that virtually
7 everything that Alaskans eat, drink, wear, or use comes into the state by ship or barge; and

8 WHEREAS the deep water transport market serving the Alaska Railbelt is a classic
9 duopoly situation in that two water carriers provide the vital service of transporting at least
10 75 percent of all goods shipped for 80 percent of the state's residents; and

WHEREAS, in a duopoly situation, the service providers have an obligation to their
customers to operate with the highest degree of fairness and disclosure; and

WHEREAS the freight system by which Alaskans receive vital cargo should treat all
customers fairly by guaranteeing equal access to competitive rates; and

WHEREAS the citizens of Alaska, recognizing that their interests may best be served
by allowing market forces to determine the cost of bringing vital goods to the state so far as
possible, continue to have concerns about the cost of shipping goods to Alaska; and

#### HJR042C

WHEREAS the citizens of Alaska have also expressed their desire to preserve the
 essential elements of the current system of regulating water carriers serving Alaska; and

WHEREAS, if the Interstate Commerce Commission is abolished and if there is no
other forum for shipper complaints, the citizens of the state may have no place to present and
resolve complaints about water carriers serving Alaska other than in court; and

6 WHEREAS the federal government has historically had a role in water transportation
7 to Alaska through the Interstate Commerce Commission; and

8 WHEREAS the federal government is considering whether to transfer some functions
9 of the Interstate Commerce Commission to the United States Department of Transportation;
10 and

WHEREAS the Interstate Commerce Commission has recommended that the
regulation of all domestic offshore water carriage be handled by the Federal Maritime
Commission, which may also be abolished; and

WHEREAS regulatory functions of the Interstate Commerce Commission relating to
 domestic offshore water carriage could be performed by other existing federal entities if the
 Interstate Commerce Commission is abolished in order to save federal taxpayer money; and

WHEREAS three primary interests of Alaskans if such abolishment occurs are to
ensure that rates for carriage to Alaska are fair and competitive, to ensure that carriage service
to Alaska is dependable, and to ensure that an accessible forum exists in which Alaskans can
present and resolve complaints;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature respectfully requests that the Governor and members of the Alaska delegation in the United States Congress support the preservation of the essential regulatory functions of the Interstate Commerce Commission pertaining to domestic offshore water carriage that serve the best interests of Alaska's consumers while providing an acceptable rate of return to the carriers which serve the Alaska market by transferring such regulatory functions to the United States Department of Transportation, if and when necessary.

28 COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Bill Clinton, President of the
29 United States; the Honorable Al Gore, Jr., Vice-President of the United States and President
30 of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Strom Thurmond, President Pro Tempore of the U.S.
31 Senate; the Honorable Newt Gingrich, Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives; to the

- 1 Honorable Ted Stevens and the Honorable Frank Murkowski, U.S. Senators, and the
- 2 Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.