HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 30

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

NINETEENTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION

BY REPRESENTATIVES VEZEY, Toohey

SENATOR Green

Introduced: 2/8/95

Referred: House Special Committee on World Trade and State/Federal Relations, Judiciary

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Relating to an amendment to the Constitution of the United States prohibiting
- 2 federal courts from ordering a state or a political subdivision of a state to
- 3 increase or impose taxes.
- 4 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:
- 5 WHEREAS federal courts have ordered a state or political subdivision of a state to
- 6 levy or increase taxes; and
- 7 WHEREAS such an order violates fundamental principles of separation of powers
- 8 under which the legislative branch is charged with the enactment of laws; and
- 9 WHEREAS such an order, coming from a federal court, severely undermines the
- 10 independence of each of the states;
- 11 BE IT RESOLVED by the Alaska State Legislature that the Congress of the United
- 12 States is requested to prepare and present to the legislatures of all the states an amendment
- 13 to the Constitution of the United States that would prohibit a federal court from ordering a
- 14 state or political subdivision of a state to increase or impose taxes in substantially the
- 15 following language:
- Neither the Supreme Court nor any inferior court of the United States shall

HJR030a -1- HJR 30

1	have the power to instruct or order a state or political subdivision thereof, or
2	an official of such state or political subdivision, to levy or increase taxes.
3	; and be it;
4	FURTHER RESOLVED that the legislatures of all the states are invited to join with
5	Alaska to secure ratification of the proposed amendment.
6	COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Bill Clinton, President of the
7	United States; the Honorable Al Gore, Jr., Vice-President of the United States and President
8	of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Strom Thurmond, President Pro Tempore of the U.S.
9	Senate; the Honorable Newt Gingrich, Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives; to the
10	Honorable Ted Stevens and the Honorable Frank Murkowski, U.S. Senators, and the
11	Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress;
12	and to the governors and presiding officers of the houses of the legislatures of each of
13	Alaska's sister states.

HJR 30 -2- HJR030a