CS FOR HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 23(FSH)

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

NINETEENTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION

BY THE HOUSE SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON FISHERIES

Offered: 3/9/95

Referred: Labor and Commerce

Sponsor(s): REPRESENTATIVES AUSTERMAN, Ivan, Foster, Finkelstein, Kubina, Davies, Navarre SENATORS Halford, Zharoff, Leman, Hoffman

A RESOLUTION

1 Relating to the North Pacific Fishery Management Council's inshore/offshore

2 allocations and the Western Alaska Community Development Quota Program.

3 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

WHEREAS the Western Alaska Community Development Quota (CDQ) Program is
a fisheries development program involving the federal Department of Commerce, the North
Pacific Fishery Management Council, the State of Alaska, and 56 Bering Sea coast, Aleutian
Islands, and Pribilof Islands communities; and

8 WHEREAS the inshore/offshore allocation of fishery resources assures Alaska's
9 coastal communities, which are economically dependent on fishing, access to the fishery
10 resources off their coast; and

WHEREAS the current inshore/offshore allocations and the CDQ program are
scheduled to expire in December 1995; and

WHEREAS the CDQ program has set aside 7.5 percent of the available Bering Sea
pollock quota during 1992 through 1995 for Bering Sea coast, Aleutian Islands, and Pribilof
Islands communities; and

16 WHEREAS the amount of pollock available for harvest under the CDQ program is

HJR023b

1 more than 100,000 metric tons per year and has an approximate annual value of \$20,000,000; 2 and

3 **WHEREAS** the CDQ program allocates the available harvest of pollock among 4 eligible communities, local fishermen's organizations, and local economic development 5 organizations who in turn reinvest the proceeds from the harvest and processing of the pollock 6 in additional local fisheries development projects; and

7

WHEREAS the CDQ program is important to the economic development of the 8 Bering Sea coast, Aleutian Islands, and Pribilof Islands communities; and

9 WHEREAS the North Pacific Fishery Management Council established the CDQ 10 program as a component of the inshore and offshore allocation of Bering Sea pollock; and

11 WHEREAS, in 1992, according to the Department of Commerce and Economic 12 Development, Department of Labor, Department of Revenue, and the Alaska Seafood 13 Marketing Institute, the Alaska seafood processing industry harvested more than 5,500,000,000 14 pounds of fish; processed these fish in more than 500 large and small Alaska seafood 15 processors registered with the state; paid fish harvesters \$1,400,000,000; provided more than 16 35,000 shore-based jobs in Alaska; spent \$280,000,000 to support its activities; paid over 17 \$80,000,000 in taxes and cash benefits to the state and Alaska's coastal communities; paid 18 \$10,000,000 for salmon enhancement; paid \$700,000 in fisheries related and marine mammal 19 research and \$3,200,000 for domestic marketing of Alaska seafood products; invested 20 \$1,000,000,000 in shoreside plants; paid \$11,000,000 to local governments in municipal fish 21 taxes; and paid over \$3,000,000 in local real and personal property taxes; and

22 WHEREAS, in Western Alaska, the Aleutian Islands, and Kodiak, shore-based 23 processors pay over \$400,000,000 annually to fish harvesters; process 1,250,000,000 pounds 24 of crab, groundfish, salmon, herring, and halibut; employ over 13,000 people; pay over 25 \$90,000,000 in annual payroll; purchase \$45,000,000 in goods, services, and utilities; pay over 26 \$7,000,000 in local raw fish taxes; and in 1992 paid over \$900,000 in grants to nonprofit 27 organizations;

28 **BE IT RESOLVED** that the Alaska State Legislature strongly supports reauthorization 29 of the inshore/offshore allocations and CDQ program before they expire in December 1995. 30 **COPIES** of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Ron Brown, Secretary of the 31 U.S. Department of Commerce; the Honorable Richard Lauber, chair of the North Pacific

- 1 Fishery Management Council; and to the Honorable Ted Stevens and the Honorable Frank
- 2 Murkowski, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of
- **3** the Alaska delegation in Congress.