This page is no longer used please use

Committee/Member Information

Anna MacKinnon
2015-2018 Senator District  

Anna MacKinnon is a lifelong Alaskan. She has called Eagle River home since 1985, where she resides with her husband John. Her two sons, daughter-in-law, and grandson remain in Eagle River and call this community home as well. Anna studied finance at the University of Alaska after graduating from Service High School in Anchorage. She served on the Anchorage Assembly for seven years prior to being elected to the Alaska State House of Representatives in 2006. In 2012, she was elected to the State Senate and represents District G which includes Eagle River, South Fork Valley, Eagle River Valley, Birchwood, and JBER.

Before her election to the House of Representatives, Anna was the Executive Director of STAR - Standing Together Against Rape. She then served as the Development Director for Hospice of Anchorage for six years.

Anna has been active in numerous community organizations over the years including service on; the Anchorage Assembly as past Chair and Vice Chair, the Mayor’s 9/11 Task Force, was the AMATS Assembly Liaison, served on the National Sexual Violence & Resource Committee (NSVRC) and is a founding board member of the Alaska Veterans Museum.

She currently serves as Co-chair of the Senate Finance Committee, chairs the Departments of Law and Revenue Budget Subcommittees, and is a member of the Department of Administration, Governor, Legislature, and University Budget Subcommittees.

She is Vice-chair of the Legislative Budget and Audit Committee and is a member of the Joint Armed Services Committee, Legislative Council, and Community & Regional Affairs Committee.


Graduate of Service High School, Anchorage, Alaska
Studied Finance at UAA & UAF
Alaska State Senate:

Co-Chair, Senate Finance Committee: 2015
Vice-Chair, Legislative Budget & Audit Committee: 2015
Community & Regional Affairs Committee: 2015
Legislative Council: 2015
Joint Armed Services Committee: 2013 – present
Chair, Legislative Budget & Audit Committee: 2013 – 2014
Vice-Chair, Senate Finance Committee: 2013 – 2014
Senate Resources Committee: 2013 – 2014
Senate Transportation Committee: 2013 – 2014
Senate TAPS Throughput Committee: 2013 – 2014
Alaska State House of Representatives 2007-2012:

Chair, House Special Committee on Fiscal Policy: 2011 - 2012
Vice-Chair, House Finance Committee: 2011-2012
Co-Chair, House Community & Regional Affairs Committee: 2007 - 2008
Co-Chair, Anchorage Caucus: 2007 - 2008
Vice-Chair, House Ways & Means Special Committee: 2007 - 2008
House Finance Committee: 2009 - 2012
House Health, Education & Social Services Committee: 2007 - 2008
House Resources Committee: 2007 - 2008
House Rules Committee: 2007 - 2008
House Transportation Committee: 2007 - 2008
House Military & Veterans’ Affairs Special Committee: 2007 - 2008
Other Political and Government Positions:

Co-Chair of the Labor and Economic Development Committee for NCSL: 2011-2012; 2014 - 2016
Women in Government, State Director: 2007 - 2013
Chair, Energy Task Force: 2008 - 2010
National Sexual Violence & Resource Center: 2003 - 2010
Chair, CDVSA Task Force: 2007 - 2008
Anchorage Assembly: 1999 - 2007
AMATS Assembly Liaison
Business and Professional Positions:

Development Director for Hospice of Anchorage: 2007 - 2013
Former Executive Director, STAR - Standing Together Against Rape
United Food & Commercial Workers, Local 1496, Membership Services
Service Organizations and Community Involvement:

Founding Board Member, Alaska Veterans Museum
Anchorage Republican Women
Chugiak/Eagle River Chamber of Commerce
National Sexual Violence Resource Center, Former Advisory Board Member
Chugiak Senior Center, Lifetime Member
Commonwealth North