REPRESENTATIVE DAN ORTIZ

Alaska State Legislature / Ketchikan, Saxman, Wrangell, Hydaburg, Metlakatla, Hyder, Loring and Meyers Chuck

SESSION ADDRESS: Alaska State Capitol Juneau, Alaska 99801 Phone: 907.465-3824 Toll Free: 1-800-686-3824 Fax: 907.465-3175



INTERIM ADDRESS: 1900 First Avenue, Suite 310 Ketchikan, Alaska 99901 Phone: 907-247-4672 907-465-5269 Fax: 907-225-8546

Sponsor Statement House Bill 31 "Observe Daylight Saving Time All Year"

House Bill 31 establishes Daylight Saving Time (DST) as the official time for the State of Alaska year-round, subject to the authorization of federal law. DST is observed between the second Sunday of March and the first Sunday of November.

Adoption of this legislation is the first step. To fully implement the change to full-time DST, action by the United States Congress is required. Congress will need to amend federal law to allow states to observe DST throughout the calendar year.

Nationally, the initiative to change to full-time DST is gaining traction. As of March 2022, 18 states have enacted DST legislation¹. In 2022 alone, 28 states are considering DST legislation. On the west coast, California voters authorized the change pending legislation and in 2019, both Washington and Oregon passed legislation similar to HB31.

Our Canadian neighbors have also taken steps to move to full-time DST. British Columbia passed legislation to implement full-time DST contingent on the U.S. west coast also implementing it. Yukon began full-time DST on March 8, 2020.

Because of our close economic and geographic ties to the U.S. and Canadian west coasts, Alaska can avoid being 'left in the dark' by passing HB31.

1. https://www.ncsl.org/bookstore/state-legislatures-magazine/is-it-time-to-change-the-time-change-magazine2022/utm_campaign/ fc84e3eaed-magazine_promo_march_09_2022/utm_medium/email/utm_term/0_1716623089-fc84e3eaed-377908044.aspx? utm_source=national+conference+of+state+legislatures