ALASKA STATE LEGISLATURE SENATE FINANCE COMMITTEE

Senator Bert Stedman, Co-Chair State Capitol, Room 518 Juneau, Alaska 99801-1182 Phone: (907) 465-3873 Sen.Bert.Stedman@akleg.gov



Senator Click Bishop, Co-Chair State Capitol, Room 516 Juneau, Alaska 99801-1182 Phone: (907) 465-2327 Sen.Click.Bishop@akleg.gov

## **Explanation of Changes SENATE CS for CS for HOUSE BILL NO. 363(FIN)**

Version 32-LS1527\E to 32-LS1527\F

The Senate Finance Committee Substitute is based on  $32-LS1527 \setminus W$  (CSHB 363(FIN)) and incorporates some language from  $32-LS1527 \setminus E$  (SCS CSHB 363(L&C))

## New Section 1

Page 1, line 5 – Page 2, line 7 Adds a new section of four legislative findings.

## Section 2

*Page 5, lines 12-13* Amends 44.33.920(c)(4) to add two members of the Statewide Broadband Advisory Board that are "representing rural energy systems" and "a technology neutral consultant"

## Page 5, lines 18-27

Amends 44.33.920(d) to provide that the broadband technical working group is comprised of eight members appointed by the advisory board to three-year terms as follows:

- (1) a mechanical engineer;
- (2) a civil engineer;
- (3) an aerospace engineer;
- (4) has expertise in telecommunications;
- (5) has expertise in fiber optics;
- (6) has expertise in satellite technology;
- (7) has expertise in microwave technology; and
- (8) is the advisory board broadband industry representative.