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Summary of Changes for HB 301 (Version A to G) 

Page 1, Lines 1 – 3: amends the title to read “clean energy standard” and adds “relating to the Alaska 
Energy Authority and clean energy projects;” to the title of the bill. The title change was done to 
conform with the twenty-seven times of “renewable portfolio standard” is replaced with “clean 
energy standard” throughout the bill.  

Page 1, Lines 9 – 11: after “energy resources” adds to the purpose section of the bill, “in order to 
minimize costs to consumers, increase stability for economic development, maximize grid resiliency, 
and minimize the state’s carbon emissions.”  

Page 2, Line 8: amends subsection (B) to be more aligned with utility industry language. 

Page 3, Lines 20 – 22: amends the benchmarks for the clean energy standard from four to three. The 
first being 25% by December 31, 2030. The second being 55% by December 31, 2040. And finally, 
the third being 80% by December 31, 2050. 

Page 4, Lines 6 – 11: adds a new section to AS 42.05.900 that would allow for construction that has 
begun prior to the end of a compliance period to be counted towards fulfilling the clean energy 
standard if the project will begin providing energy no later than two years after the compliance period 
or the end of a period determined by the Regulatory Commission of Alaska.  

Page 4, Line 21: adds a new section to AS 42.05.900 whereby a load serving entity may satisfy the 
clean energy standard using the sale of clean energy credits.  

Page 4, Line 23: adds a new section to AS 42.05.900 that a project located on state lands is exempted 
from state lease fees for a period of 10 years.  

Page 5, Lines 9 – 21: amends the previous energy credit system into “clean energy credits”. A clean 
energy credit may only be used once. A credit may be used to comply with the clean energy standard 
without purchase or use of the electrical generation from which the credit is derived.  

Page 6, Line 24: after “commission” changed the word “may” to “shall”. 

Page 7, Lines 3 – 7: amends the previous exemptions section to a single exemption. The new 
exemption states that if the as a whole the Railbelt achieves the clean energy standard then the 
individual load serving entities are exempted.  
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Page 7, Lines 9 – 16: adds a definition of a “clean energy credit”.   
 
Page 7, Lines 17 – 19: amends the previous definition of “renewable energy standard” and reordered 
it in the definitions section.    
 
Page 7, Line 20: amends the compliance period to a 10-year period.  
 
Page 8, Line 2: the definition of “renewable energy resource” was cleaned up by Legislative Legal to 
be more in line with their drafting standards. 
 
Page 8, Line 15: adds a new subsection to AS 44.83.940. The new subsection would require that the 
Alaska Energy Authority shall provide a report to the legislature every two years on the progress of 
developing renewable and clean energy resources in rural parts of the state.  
 
Page 8, Line 25 – 27: the regulations language for the RCA of Alaska was cleaned up by Legislative 
Legal to be more in line with their drafting standards. 
 
 


