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HB 203 Sectional 
Alaska Secure Storage of Firearms 

 
This bill amends Alaska Statute 11.  
 
Section 1: States that the bill may be known as the Alaska Secure Storage of Firearms Act.   
 
Section 2: Amends AS 11.61.210(a) related to misconduct involving weapons in the fourth degree 
by adding a new subsection (9) to read that a violation has occurred if Sec. 11.61.225 (described in 
section 3 below) has been violated and a prohibited person has used a firearm to commit a crime 
or to injure themselves or another. 
 
Section 3: Adds a new section AS 11.61.225 establishing misconduct involving weapons in the 
sixth degree as well as related definitions. Subsections include the following:  
 
Section 3 (a) (1): A person commits misconduct involving weapons in the sixth degree if they 
keep on premises a firearm that is not under the direct control of an authorized person or is not 
securely stored and is able to be accessed by someone other than the owner or an authorized 
person.  
 
Section 3 (a) (2): A person commits misconduct involving weapons in the sixth degree if they 
know or reasonably should know that a prohibited person or a person that is not the owner or an 
authorized person is able to access the firearm.  
 
Section 3 (b) (1): References storage devices approved by the Department of Public Safety as 
meeting the definition of “locked container.”  
 
Section 3 (b) (2): References current Federal and state law defining a “prohibited person.” 
 
Section 3 (c): Establishes a $500 fine for keeping an unsecured firearm under section a (1), and a 
$1,000 fine for knowingly allowing access to an unsecured firearm under section a (2). 
 
Section 4: States that the violations described in this bill are effective on and after the effective 
date of the bill.  


