Senator Peter A. Micciche

Alaska State Legislature

Session Address: Alaska State Capitol, Rm. 111 Juneau, Alaska 99801-1182 Phone: (907) 465-2828 Toll Free: (800) 964-5733



Interim Address:

145 Main Street Loop, Ste. 226

Kenai, Alaska 99611-7771

Phone: (907) 283-7996

Fax: (907) 283-8127

President of the Senate

SB 219-Sectional Analysis

Version \I

"An Act providing for the transfer of and addition of names to a personal use cabin permit for a cabin on state land; and providing for an effective date."

<u>Section 1</u> - Amends the uncodified law of the State of Alaska by adding a new section which allows for Transfer of Permits for Personal Use Cabin on State Land.

<u>Subsection (a) Page 1 Line 6-Page 2, Line 9</u> - Outlines the process by which a cabin permit may be transferred to an immediate family member in the event of a pre-mature death. The immediate family may assume privileges of the permit for the remaining life expectancy of the original permit holder, provided by the National Center for Health Statistics.

<u>Subsection (b) Page 2, Lines 10-15</u> - Directs DNR to adopt regulations that would allow an immediate family to assume the permit privileges.

<u>Subsection (c) Page 2 Lines 16-22</u> - Requires the immediate family member submit their name to the DNR within 30 days of the death.

<u>Subsection (d) Page 2 Lines 23-25</u> - Upon transfer, the permit is only valid during the lifetime of the immediate family member.

<u>Subsection (e)(f) Page 2 Lines 26-31</u> - Directs the department to adopt regulations necessary for implementation of this section. Adds definition of "personal use cabin permit".

<u>Section 2</u> - Amends the uncodified law of the State of Alaska to add Personal Use Cabin Permits that expired on or after January 1, 2020, and before the effective date of this act allowing the department to carry out the intent of this legislation.

<u>Subsection (a) Page 3 Lines 4-11</u> - The Department of Natural Resources shall allow an immediate family to assume privileges of the deceased permit holder's permit if it expired on or after January 1, 2020.

<u>Subsection (b) Page 3 Lines 12-15</u> - Adds that the immediate family member of a permit holder who passed between January 1, 2020 and the effective date, must apply to the Department of Natural Resources within 60 days after the effective date for them to assume the former privileges of the permit.

<u>Subsection (c) Page 3 Lines 16-20</u> - Defines the period of time which an immediate family member may assume the permit privileges.

Section 3 - This Act takes effect immediately

This is a summary only. Note that this summary should not be considered an authoritative interpretation of the bill and the bill itself is the best statement of its contents.