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How was HB 5 drafted?

» Priority of STAR (Standing Together Against Rape)

» Knew firsthand how law failed to achieve justice for Alaskans who have been
raped or sexually assaulted

» Has not been updated in forty years

» 4 yedr process

» Mulfiple statewide meetings with input from across Alaska over 2 years
(2019,2020), bill infroduced in 2021

» Expert interviews, expert team for developing proposal (combined 60 plus
years of experience with sexual assault crimes in Alaska), feedback from
Department of Law

» Presented at statewide meeting of ANDVSA
» More than 100 Alaskans contributed to the drafting of this bill
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Has consent
ever peen as
Issue for youe






A RAPE IS LIKE A MURDER
WHERE THE VICTIM LIVES



4 Parts to the Bl

1. Require Rape Kits be tested within six months
2. Update decades old consent definition

3. Add rape by fraud or rape by decepftion to criminal
statutes

4. Address predatory behavior of much older adults in
relationships with much younger minors



4 Parts to the Bl

1. Require Rape Kits be tested within six months

Last piece of multi-year Rape Kit Reform Initiative
Accomplishments:
Ongoing audit of backlog of rape kits
Testing of backlog of rape kits
Secure storage of rape kits
Victim centered approach

Training for law enforcement for sexual assault
response

Created a timeline for rape kit processing — within 30 days of
collection be sent to crime lab, tested within 1 year, and
survivor be nofified within 14 days




The real reason this matter — Justice for Alaskans

KT o o = Menu raped her for the first time since she ‘ = | ANCHORAGE DAILY NEWS

jumped from his van 19 years earlier.

He wore a dark tie and a blue face mask, LOGIN | SUBSCRIBE
appearing in one of Alaska’s first felony

jury trials of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Crime & Courts | Southeast

Newly tested DNA
sample led to arrest
in 1993 rape case,
Ketchikan police
say

Sattler was committed to getting justice Obituaries ® Games ® ADN Store ¢ e-Edition e
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subjected her body to the swabbing and

prodding and picture taking of a forensic
exam after the 2001 kidnapping, so
troopers could collect a sample of the
rapist's DNA. In court, where a jury of

gcially distanced strangers examjpee

After 3 years and $1.5
million devoted to
testing rape Kits,
Alaska made one new

images of her genitalia, she answered the
defense lawyer's questions about why she

was barhopping the night of her rape.

In the end, all the little humiliations built a

June 30, 2021 by Eric Stone, KRBD - Ketchikan

case. A Kenai jury found Carmen
Perzechino, a former sled dog musher who

of all

arrest

The state public safety commissioner

celebrated the verdict as a win in Alaska's First of two parts: In the state with
the highest rate of sexual assault
in the nation, testing the backlog
of rape kits may not be enough.
Many were from cases where the
identity of the suspect was already
known, or were opened only to find

no usable DNA.

push to test hundreds of old sexual assault
kits collected by state troopers, some
dating back to the 1980s. The “kits" are
textbook-sized boxes or even bags of

evidence collected at the beginning of a

sex crime investigation. For a variety of
reasons, they were never before

submitted to a crime lab where the

suspect’'s DNA would have been extracted,

possibly identified and entered into a

database.




December Milestone
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iIN Rape Kit Reform

State of Alaska

| niﬂ(] ﬂve announces thousands of

unprocessed sexual
assault kits have been

w{
THOUSANDS OF UNPROCESSED SEXUAL
ASSAULT KITS HAVE BEEN CLEARED
780 \\
By Patrick Enslow
Published: Dec. 14, 2021 at 8:48 PM AKST
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ANCHORAGE, Alaska (KTUU) - It’s been years
in the making, but the backlog of thousands of
untested sexual assault examination kits from
across Alaska is nearly cleared. Gov. Mike
Dunleavy’s administration recently announced
that the final 51 kits have been submitted for
the final stages of testing and should be
finished by the end of the year.

The backlog of unsubmitted kits was
discovered in 2016 after former Gov. Bill
Walker’s office requested an inventory review.
The state then received $1.09 million in federal
grant money from the National Sexual Assault
Kit Initiative to help tackle the thousands of
sexual assault kits that began compiling in the
mid-1990s.




4 Parts to the Bl

1. Require Rape Kits be tested within six months
2. Update decades old consent definition



Without consent?

» Alaska Stat. § 11.41.470

“Without consent” means that a person:

(A) with or without resisting, is coerced by the use of force against a person or property, or by the
express or implied threat of death, imminent physical injury, or kidnapping to be inflicted on
anyone; or

(B) is incapacitated as a result of an act of the defendant.

PROBLEMATIC FOR MANY REASONS:
1. Not an affirmative definition
2. Suggests use of force

3. Places burden on victim



Reviewed other states

» Minnesota
Minn. Stat. § 609.341(4).

"Consent' means words or overt actions by a person indicating a freely given
present agreement fo perform a particular sexual act with the actor. Consent does
not mean the existence of a prior or current social relationship between the actor
and the complainant or that the complainant failed to resist a particular sexual
act. Further:

» A person who is mentally incapacitated or physically helpless as defined by this
section cannot consent to a sexual act.

» Corroboration of the victim's testimony is not required to show lack of consent.
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Montana -Mont. Code Ann. § 45-5-501(1)

The term “consent” means words or overt actions indicating a freely given arrangement to
have sexual intercourse or sexual contact and is further defined, but not limited to:

An expression of lack of consent through words or conduct means there is no consent or
that consent has been withdrawn;

A current or previous dating or social or sexual relationship by itself or the manner of dress of
the person involved with the accused in the conduct at issue does not constitute consent;
and

Lack of consent may be inferred based on all of the surrounding circumstances and must be
considered in determining whether a person gave consent.

The victim is incapable of consent because the victim is:
mentally disordered or incapacitated;

physically helpless;

overcome by deception, coercion, or surprise;

less than 16 years old;



Themes In modernized statutes

» Affirmative definition
» Freely given
Agreement

Reversible

A AT AR 4

Words and actions

» Previous social or dating relationship does not suggest consent

» Language that represents all frauma responses: fight, flight, or freeze



New definition proposed in HB 5

» '‘consent” means a freely given, reversible
agreement specific to the conduct af
Issue; In this paragraph, “freely given”
means agreement to cooperate in the
act was positively expressed by word or
action.



4 Parts to the Bl

1. Require Rape Kits be tested within six months
2. Update decades old consent definition

3. Add rape by fraud or rape by deception to criminal
statutes



Rape by Fraud

Concept: An action whereby a person obtains sexual consent and has
sexual intercourse of any type by fraud, deception, misrepresentation, or
Impersonation.

« 12 states currently have specific language

10 have language that says consent does not apply if “it is induced by
force, duress, or deception.”

« Laws in Tennessee and Texas specifically use the term “fraud.”

« Federal law addresses “professional purpose” — one component



Rape by Fraud

Concept: An action whereby a person obtains sexual consent and has
sexual intercourse of any type by fraud, deception, misrepresentation, or
impersonation.

= College campus example

https://abcnews.go.com/US/college-student-hopes-rape-fraud-case-
expose-loophole/storycid=60211269



https://abcnews.go.com/US/college-student-hopes-rape-fraud-case-expose-loophole/story?id=60211269

Rape by Fraud

American Law Institute (author of the model Uniform Model Penal Code)
had advocated for criminal justice for victims of rape by fraud (2015)

« Model Penal Code “global consent provision” includes language that
states — “does not constitute consent if ....it Is induced by force, duress,
or deception of a kind sought to be prevented by the law defining the
offense.”



4 Parts to the Bl

1. Require Rape Kits be tested within six months
2. Update decades old consent definition

3. Add rape by fraud or rape by decepftion to criminal
statutes

4. Address predatory behavior of much older adults in
relationships with much younger minors



Address predatory behavior of much older adulis in
relationships with much younger minors




Address predatory behavior of much older adulis in

relationships with much younger minors

Dffice af Rep. Tarr

ng statute ting statute isting statute

al abu al abu: al ab fa al abus

miner in the 2nd

in the 3rd minor in in the 2nd

lass B lass B

A5 11.41.436{a)(

11 (Offender is 16 or older
under 16 [and engag
4 in sexual cantact or encourages
ancther todo w0 and

A5 11.41.436(a)
Offender & under 16
and engages in sexual
penetration and victim
i at least 3 years

m sexual

contact and victim & st

least 3 years younger irn i under 13, WOURRES.

A5 11.41.436{a)(1)
(Offender is
and eng
penetration or
encaurages anather ta

least B years younger
[Class C felo ith
prigan nat mare than
59 year

125512

reference bac
131.41.438)

7 or older

Ars yoLnger
(Class C Fedory with
n ot mare than 5 do w0, and victim

13,14, 15 puars)

years old and
[encourages vi
unider 16 to engages in

A5 11 .41 236(4)
Offender i 18 or alder
i in a podition &f
v and offender
s in Sexual
Under 16 years old ith the victim.
5 11 41 a40{a)(2)
18 or older
and i in & pasition of
rd offender
v and affender
pes in Sexual
whao i at leait 3 years penetration with the
WO Lnger

Under 18 years ald

[New statute

Sexual abuse of a
minor in the 2nd
degree. Class B

and engages in or
encourages sexual
contact and victim is at
l=ast 10 years younger.
(Same as for 13, 14, 15;
and 16, 17 below.)

AS 11.41.436(a)(1)
(Offender is 17 or older
and engages in sexual
[penetration ar
encourages another to
do 50, and wictim is at
l=ast 4 years younger
but not more than 10
years younger. (The
effect of this is that if
wictim is 10 years
rounger the crime
moves to first degree.}

New statute Existing statute

Sexual abuse of a
minor in the 2nd
degree, Class B
felony.

A5 11.41.434(a)(4]
Offender is 18 or older
and engages in or
encourages seaual
contact and wictim is at
least 10 years younger.
(3ame as for under 13;
and 18, 17.)

penetration with
wictim.

A5 11.41.4384a)i4)
Offender is 18 or older
and engages in or
encourages seaual
contact and victim is at
least 10 years younger.
(Same as for under 13;
and13, 14, 15}

al peretration

weith wictim.

hiew statute

Sexual abuse of a
minor in the first
degree.
Uniclassified

(Oiffender is 18 or older
and engages in or
Encourages sexual
penetration and vietim
is at least 10 years
younger. [Same as for
13, 14, 15; and 16, 17
below. |

A5 11.41.434(a)(4)
(Offender is 18 or older
and engages in or
encourages sexual
[penetration and victim
is at least 10 years
younger. (Same as for
under 13; and 16, 17.}

A5 11.41.434{a)(4)
(Offender is 18 or older
and engages in or
encourages sexual
[penetration and victim
is at least 10 years
younger. [Same as for
under 13; and 13, 14,




HB 5 sectional
Sections 1 and 2: Rape by Fraud

Sections 3 and 4: Predatory behavior by much older adults engaging in
sexual relationships with teenagers at least ten years younger

Section 5: Addressing circumstances in which consent can be given
Section 6: New definition of consent

Sections 7 and 8: Updates the definition of consent in the sections of
statute related to failure to report a crime against an adult and failure to
report a crime against a child

Section 9: Refers to the updated Military Code of Justice



HB 5 sectional

Section 10: Requires rape kits be tested within six
months

Section 11: Repeals the old definitions

Section 12: Law applies to crimes committed after the
effective date

Section 13: Effective date for rape kit testing is July 1,
2023



Want 2 outcomes

» Remove dangerous people from our
communities for an appropriate amount of fime
and with access to sex offender freatment to
prevent them from harming others

» Fails fo prevent harm — this responds to harm

» Educate Alaskans about consent and change
the culture around sexual violence to prevent
harm from happening
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Change the law to
make prosecution for
rape more possible in
Nome and across
Alaska, experts say

By Emily Hofstaedter, KNOM - Nome - February 10, 2021

This is the third in a five-part series from
KNOM called "Seeking Protection,
Wanting Justice” that explores the

community dynamics around sexual assault

in Nome, and efforts by law enforcement to
heal long-standing mistrust within the
Alaska Native community.

HB 5 Is the solution

In Alaska, prosecutors and experts say the

legal system requires a high burden of

proof: Some said an outdated statute
dealing with consent ensures most sexual

assault cases won’t result in convictions.

Advocates and survivors say it's time for
some of those laws to change.




More listening
fhan talking



Questions we have to answer:

» What is the appropriate criminal justice system
responsg based on the human suffering caused to the
SUrvivors

» How much of a danger does this person pose to the
community and how long should they be removed
Hom ’r2he community so they can no longer cause

arme

» How much do we want fo invest fo improve public
safety and reduce sexual assault in Alaskae
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