## SB 129 Research Judicial Council Recommendations and Retention Votes.

Alaska judges standing for retention that were not recommended by the Alaska Judicial Council or failed to receive a simple majority of votes during a retention election.

Judge		Election Years *	Judicial Council Recommendation	Retention Vote **
Joseph	Brewer	1978	No	55.6
Joseph	Brewer	1982	No	45.5
Stephen	Cline	1980	No	55.5
Michael	Corey	2018	Yes	47.1
Dennis	Cummings	2008	No	53.6
Karl	Johnstone	1988	No	58.1
David	Landry	2006	No	47.4
Richard	Postma	2010	No	45.9
Virgil	Vochoska	1978	No	51.6
Virgil	Vochoska	1982	No	42.3
Gerald	Williams	1976	No	71.5
Gerald	Williams	1980	No	59.1
William	Estelle	2014	No	54.3

<sup>\*</sup> Alaska state legislature first authorized evaluations of judges standing for retention in 1976.

Document prepared by Senator Myers office

Staff Contact: Theresa Woldstad (907) 465-3719

<sup>\*\*</sup> Judge standing for retention must receive a simple majority of yes votes to be retained.