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Federal Reporting Requirements

e Suzanne’s Law: P. LAW 108-21, Title I, Section 204

* Requires law enforcement to enter records for missing
persons under the age of 21 into the National Crime
Information Center (NCIC) database (2003)

e Adam Walsh Act: P. LAW 109-248 Section 154

* Requires law enforcement to enter records for missing
persons under the age of 21 into the NCIC database within
two hours of being reported missing (2006)
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Current Statutory Language

* AS 18.65.620 requires reporting missing minors to
the state’s Missing Persons Clearinghouse if not
located within 48 hours after first reported missing

* AS 47.10.141 requires reporting missing minors
into state and national databases no later than 24
hours after completing the missing person report

* AS 47.10.390 defines ‘runaway minor’ as a person
under 18 years of age
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Summary of Statutory Changes

* Changes required for AS 47.10.141 and AS
18.65.620 to comply with the two federal laws
regarding

* Entry into state and national databases for missing

persons under age 21 instead of the state
requirement of age 18

* Entry of the records into state and national databases
within 2 hours instead of the state requirement of 24
hours
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Current Procedures

e Statewide training for law enforcement is already in
place regarding the more restrictive federal
requirements

* Most state and local law enforcement agencies are
already complying with the more restrictive federal
requirements

* Programming for the state database, Alaska Public
Safety Information Network (APSIN), has already been
completed to allow law enforcement to enter reports
to comply with the more restrictive federal
requirements
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Benefits

 Remove conflicting, less restrictive state statutory
requirements

* Faster state and nationwide notification of missing
person records for those under age 21

* The National Center for Missing and Exploited Children
monitors national databases and proactively offers
assistance

* Improved response for the vulnerable, college-age
population of missing persons
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Sectional Analysis

e Section 1: Includes conforming language related to the duty of law
enforcement agencies to reflect changes made in section 2.

e Section 2: Adds a new subsection to AS 18.65.620, requiring law
enforcement agencies to transmit a missing person’s report for a person
under the age of 21 to the Alaska Public Safety Information Network and
the National Crime Information Center as soon as practicable, but not
later than two hours after completing the report. If the person is later
found, the agency shall remove that information from those databases
as soon as practicable, but not later than 24 hours after learning the
person has been located.

e Section 3: Contains conforming language to AS 47.10.141, runaway and
missing children, to the changes made in section 2. All reporting
procedures for persons under the age of 21 are moved to AS 18.65, as
amended in section 2 of the bill.
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Thank you for your consideration

Kathy Monfreda
Director, Division of Statewide Services

Division of Statewide Services
kathryn.monfreda@alaska.gov
(907) 269-5581

Kelly Howell
Special Assistant to the Commissioner
kelly.howell@alaska.gov
(907) 269-5618
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