HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO.

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

THIRTY-SECOND LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION

BY THE HOUSE LABOR AND COMMERCE COMMITTEE

Introduced: Referred:

A RESOLUTION

1 Supporting widespread infrastructure investment in the state.

2 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

- 3 WHEREAS improving the state's transportation, energy, and technological
- 4 foundations is a key goal of the comprehensive economic development strategy of the state;
- 5 and
- 6 WHEREAS the state received a grade of C- when last reviewed by the American
- 7 Society of Civil Engineers in 2017; and
- 8 WHEREAS the 2019 Alaska Broadband Task Force Plan identified the expansion of
- 9 broadband infrastructure as critical to meeting the ever-increasing demand for bandwidth to
- support innovations in commerce, education, and health care, among other sectors of the
- 11 state's economy; and
- WHEREAS the deployment of broadband and low earth orbit satellites is critical to
- 13 the state's comprehensive economic development strategy, because many communities in the
- state lack adequate access to the Internet; and
- WHEREAS the state has an estimated backlog of deferred maintenance at state
- 16 facilities of over \$2,000,000,000; and

1	WHEREAS the University of Alaska has a separate deferred maintenance backlog of
2	\$1,300,000,000; and
3	WHEREAS some communities in the state do not have centralized water or
4	wastewater systems, requiring residents to haul water from rivers and lakes and use "honey
5	buckets" for disposal of solid waste; and
6	WHEREAS addressing all clean water and sanitation needs in communities in the
7	state would require an investment of nearly \$2,200,000,000; and
8	WHEREAS residents and businesses in many areas of the state endure extremely high
9	electric and heating costs; and
10	WHEREAS the state's abundant renewable energy resources have the potential to
11	reduce energy costs but require an upfront investment before these resources can produce
12	clean energy for decades to come; and
13	WHEREAS affordable housing shortages persist throughout all corners of the state,
14	affecting the viability of rural communities and the ability of businesses and governments to
15	hire locally; and
16	WHEREAS the state needs approximately 16,000 affordable homes, at an estimated
17	cost of \$7,000,000,000, to alleviate overcrowding across the state; and
18	WHEREAS the Port of Alaska moves goods consumed by 90 percent of the state's
19	population and serves as a critical strategic asset for military readiness; and
20	WHEREAS the Port of Alaska needs significant investment to complete an ongoing
21	modernization project in an active seismic zone; and
22	WHEREAS the Alaska marine highway system has an aging fleet of vessels that
23	require replacement and repair to ensure the continued viability of this unique form of public
24	transit; and
25	WHEREAS the need for infrastructure investment across the state far outpaces the
26	state's ability to directly fund these needs; and
27	WHEREAS several funding mechanisms, including the Denali Commission, the
28	renewable energy grant fund, the Alaska marine highway system vessel replacement fund, the
29	Alaska microloan revolving loan fund, and many others established by state and federal law,
30	are already in place to capitalize infrastructure needs in the state; and
31	WHEREAS the President of the United States and the United States Congress are

currently working toward a meaningful legislative package with investments in areas of new and existing infrastructure, power and renewable energy, housing, transit, and building retrofits;

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature supports widespread infrastructure investment in the state.

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Joseph R. Biden, President of the United States; the Honorable Kamala D. Harris, Vice President of the United States and President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Nancy Pelosi, Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives; the Honorable Mitch McConnell, Minority Leader of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Kevin McCarthy, Minority Leader of the U.S. House of Representatives; and the Honorable Charles Schumer, Majority Leader of the U.S.; the Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Dan Sullivan, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.