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Sectional Analysis for CSHB 132 ver W 
 

Section 1: this section names the bill the Alaska Apprenticeship Expansion Act.  
 
Section 2:  
 AS 14.07.020(a). Duties of the department.  
Adds to the duties of the Department of Education and Early Development that they must collaborate 
with the Department of Labor and Workforce Development to provide financial and technical 
support to school districts creating or expanding school to apprenticeship programs or concurrent 
secondary education and apprenticeship programs. 
 
DEED must also provide technical support to school districts seeking to provide science, math, and 
engineering credit for career and technical education courses, and provide opportunities to participate 
in concurrent vocational education, training, and on-the-job trade experience programs to students 
over 14 years of age enrolled in public secondary schools. 
 
Section 3: 
 
AS 14.40.170(a). Duties and powers of Board of Regents.  
Adds to the duties of the Board of Regents that they shall collaborate with the Department of 
Education and Early Development and the Department of Labor and Workforce Development to 
provide technical and financial assistance to school districts and postsecondary institutions offering 
credit for concurrent secondary education and apprenticeship programs. 
 
Section 4: 
 
AS 43.20. Chapter 20. Alaska Net Income Tax Act.  
Adds a new section to AS 43.20. The new section is described below:  
Sec. 43.20.055. Registered apprentice tax credit.  
Creates a registered apprentice tax credit. This section clarifies that a taxpayer that hires a registered 
apprentice and employs and trains the registered apprentice in the state is entitled to a credit. This 
section also specifies other requirements related to the registered apprentice tax credit:  
• To qualify as a registered apprentice for the purposes of the credit, a person must participate in a 
registered apprenticeship program recognized by the Department of Labor and Workforce 
Development;  
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• The amount of credit that may be applied by a taxpayer for each qualifying registered apprentice is 
$1,000 and $1,500 for veterans.  
• The tax credit may be applied against the tax for the first tax year ending on or after the end of the 
employment period. The credit may not be used to reduce a person’s tax liability below zero for any 
tax year, and any credit or portion of a credit not used may be applied in a later tax year. It is 
refundable. 
• A taxpayer must keep a record of the name of the registered apprentice whose employment and 
training is the basis for a credit, and the registered apprentice’s hours employed and period of 
employment. The department may by regulation specify the documentation that must be maintained 
to support a claim that an employee qualifies as a registered apprentice.  
•It defines veterans for the purposes of this credit. 
 
 
 

 


