## **States with Penalties for Violating Open Meeting Laws**

State	Penalty
Alabama	Max \$1000 penalty for each meeting
Arizona	Court can remove public officer from office
Arkansas	Class C misdemeanor; \$500 fine, up to 30 days on jail or both
California	Misdemeanor
Colorado	Any actions taken during the meeting will be invalid
Florida	2nd degree misdemeanor; 1 year imprisonment and/or up to \$1000 fine
Georgia	Misdemeanor and possible removal from office
Idaho	Any actions taken during the meeting will be invalid
Kentucky	Fine up to \$100
Michigan	Fine up to \$500
Minnesota	Removal after 3 violations
Nevada	Misdemeanor
Ohio	Any actions taken during the meeting will be invalid and possible removal
Oklahoma	Imprisoned up to 1 year
South Dakota	Fine up to \$200 and/or 30 days in jail
Texas	Fines and possible jail time
Vermont	Possible misdemeanor