## ALASKA STATE LEGISLATURE



## REPRESENTATIVE ZACK FIELDS

Fairview • South Addition • Government Hill • Downtown • Eastridge

## **US Department of Labor:**

- 1. An employer temporarily ceases operations due to COVID-19, preventing employees from coming to work;
- 2. An individual is quarantined with the expectation of returning to work after the quarantine is over; and
- 3. An individual leaves employment due to a risk of exposure or infection or to care for a family member. In addition, federal law does not require an employee to quit in order to receive benefits due to the impact of COVID-19.

<u>Alabama</u>: Alabama Dept of Labor announced that workers unable to work because of COVID-19 are eligible for UI. The one week waiting period is also waived.

- 1. Those who are quarantined by a medical professional or a government agency,
- 2. Those who are laid off or sent home without pay for an extended period by their employer due to COVID-19 concerns,
- 3. Those who are diagnosed with COVID-19,
- 4. Or, those who are caring for an immediate family member who is diagnosed with COVID-19.
- 5. Ready and able requirement related to COVID-19 impacted workers is waived.

## California:

- 1. Those diagnosed or simply under quarantine orders can qualify for disability insurance claim. This is short term and relates to non work related illness.
- 2. Governor Newsom's executive order waives one week waiting period.
- 3. Paid Family Leave is available for those unable to work because they're caring for a loved one under quarantine.
- 4. Those unable to work because of school closures, and a lack of childcare and no ability to work remotely, may qualify for UI.
- 5. Those workers facing reduced work hours because of a work shutdown or partial shutdown because of COVID-19 can qualify for UI.
- 6. Employers facing workplace slowdowns or partial shutdowns can apply for UI Work Sharing Program. This allows employers to partially offset lost wages and hours of employees with UI benefits for those employees.
- 7. Extension of state payroll reports and deposits: employers experiencing a COVID-19 hardship may request a 60-day extension of payroll reports and deposits.

<u>Colorado</u>: Governor Polis' Emergency Order creates <u>Emergency Sick Leave with Pay</u>, as well as directive to develop forthcoming rules around UI benefit eligibility. Employees whose employers closed or reduced hours to prevent spread of COVID-19 can file or reopen an unemployment insurance claim. Published EO requires employers in certain industries to provide at least 4 days sick leave for employees in the following industries:

Leisure and hospitality, accommodations, food services, childcare, education, community living facilities, nursing homes and home health.

<u>Kansas</u>: UI benefits may be available to those temporarily unemployed as a result of COVID-19. Benefits may be available up until 16 weeks. Employers may participate in shared work program to help offset partial shutdown of business and alleviate at most 40% of weekly work hours.

**New Jersey:** Workers who lost their job, unable to work because of COVID-19 related closure, or whose employer voluntarily closed, or who have reduced hours, can qualify for UI. Voluntary closures are considered temporary, and thus the able and available requirements would be suspended. Depending on situation, workers could be qualified to receive Paid Sick Leave or Disability and Family Leave Insurance.

<u>New Mexico</u>: Workers laid off by COVID-19 related reduction in business or business closure may be eligible. Waiving work search requirements for four weeks.

- 1. Employers may lay off some or all of their workforce as a result of the impact of COVID-19; for example, a restaurant that sees a significant reduction in business due to lack of customers dining out during this time, or an event facility that cancels all events until a later date, or bus drivers who are out of work due to temporary school closures.
- 2. Workers who are self-quarantined or directed to be quarantined, or who have immediate family who is quarantined.
- 3. Workers who have their hours reduced as a result of COVID-19.

<u>New York State:</u> NY is waiving the 7-Day waiting period for Unemployment Insurance benefits or people who are out of work due to Coronavirus (COVID-19) closures or quarantines.

<u>Maine:</u> Governor Mills orders emergency legislation through Speaker Sara Gideon: Expanded eligibility for unemployment insurance to cover situations such as employer ceasing operations.

- 1. Employer temporarily ceases operation due to COVID-19;
- 2. An individual is quarantined with the expectation of returning to work once the quarantine is over; or
- 3. An individual leaves employment due to risk of exposure or infection or to care for a family member. It also temporarily waives the one week waiting period for benefits so that workers may

January-May: State Capitol • Juneau, AK 99801-1182 • (907) 465-2647 • Fax (907) 465-3518 June-December: 1500 W. Benson Blvd. • Anchorage, AK 99503 • (907) 269-0106 • Fax (907) 269-0109 Rep.Zack.Fields@akleg.gov

- obtain benefits immediately and ensures that claims for UI will not affect an employer's experience rating.
- 4. Under emergency legislation, worker is deemed to have met eligibility for able/available to work if they: are under medical quarantine, isolation, etc due to COVID-19, and expect to return to work, or are temporarily laid off due to partial or full closure as result of state of emergency and expect to return to work once the closure is lifted.

<u>Ohio</u>: Emergency regulations issued by Governor DeWine expands eligibility for unemployment benefits.

- 1. UI available for individuals isolated on medical, employer or health authority orders, even if they are not actually diagnosed. Quarantine is considered to be unemployed.
- 2. Waiting period for UI benefits waived.
- 3. Employees laid off due to loss in production caused by coronavirus will be eligible.
- 4. Late penalties and fees on reporting requirements for employers waived.

<u>Oregon</u>: If your employer expects the closure to be four weeks or less, you do not actively have to look for another job to receive benefits. To get benefits, you must:

- 1. Be able to work;
- 2. Stay in contact with your employer; and
- 3. Be available to work when your employer calls you back to work.
- 4. Generally employees will be eligible for UI if their employer goes out of business as a result of COVID-19.

**Vermont:** Expands eligibility for UI applications:

- 1. State Commissioner of Dept of Labor directs UI staff not to deny claims on "able and availability" grounds related to temporarily quarantine or isolation.
- 2. If employee is affected by temporary closure of business and given a return to work date within current ten week period, the work search requirement is waived.
- 3. Other provisions to expedite payments include shortening electronic transfer of funds validation process and allowing payments prior to employer confirmation.

<u>Washington State</u>: Employee Security Department, the state's unemployment office, <u>issued the following</u>.

As a result of Inslee's emergency proclamation, ESD developed rules to go into effect today. These rules enhance the flexibility of the unemployment insurance program. The rules will help relieve the burden of temporary layoffs, isolation and quarantine by ensuring unemployment benefits are available to individuals whose employment has been impacted directly by COVID-19.

- 1. Workers will be able to receive unemployment benefits and employers will get relief of benefit charges if an employer needs to curtail or shut down operations temporarily because a worker becomes sick and other workers need to be isolated or quarantined as a result of COVID-19.
- 2. A worker that follows guidance issued by a medical or public health official to isolate or quarantine themselves as a result of exposure to COVID-19 and is not receiving paid sick leave from their employer, may be eligible to receive unemployment benefits.
- 3. If a worker falls seriously ill and is forced to quit, they may qualify for Paid Family Medical Leave while ill under the existing program. Once recovered and available for work, they may apply for unemployment benefits.
- 4. It removes the full-time requirement and expands standby ability to part time/less than full-time workers who are isolated.
- 5. Workers are waived from standby requirements if their unemployment is related to COVID-19.