

Senator Lyman F. Hoffman

Member, Senate Finance Committee

Alaska State Legislature * State Capitol * Juneau, AK 99801-1182 Toll Free 1-866-465-4453 * (907) 465-4453 * Fax (907) 465-4523

Summary of Changes

SB 74 (version M to version K)

"An Act relating to funding for Internet services for school districts; and providing for an effective date."

Section 1 AS 14.03.127(a)

Page 1, Line 7: after "share to," delete a minimum of

Changed in S EDU committee. It removes the minimum requirement so the 25 Mbps in in effect a "ceiling" instead of a "floor."

Page 1, Line 10: insert Sec. 2.

New section added in S FIN committee. Adds conditional effective date language. This is so the Department of Education and Early Development has time to receive certification from the United States Department of Education that the new E-rate funding levels may be excluded from the federal disparity test, so it does not negatively affect Federal Impact Aid. Once certification is received the Commissioner of Education will notify the revisor of statutes.

Page 2, Line 6: insert Sec. 3.

New section added in S FIN. Effective date language. This act will not take effect until the Department of Education and Early Development receives certification from the United States Department of Education.

District S Adak Akiachak Akiak Akutan Aleknagik Aniak Anvik Atka Atmauthluak Attu Station Bethel Chefornak Chignik Chignik Lagoon Chignik Lake Chuathbaluk Clark's Point Cold Bay Crooked Creek Dillingham Dutch Harbor Eek Egegik Ekwok False Pass Flat Goodnews Bay Grayling Holy Cross Igiugig Iliamna Ivanof Bay Kasigluk King Cove King Salmon Kipnuk Kokhanok Koliganek Kongiganak Kwethlik Kwigillingok Lake Minchumina Levelock Lime Village Lower Kalskag Manokotak Marshall McGrath Mekoryuk Mertarvik Naknek Napakiak Napaskiak Nelson Lagoon Newhalen New Stuyahok Newtok Nightmute Nikolai Nikolski Nondalton Nunapitchuk Oscarville Pedro Bay Perryville Pilot Point Platinum Pope-Vannoy Landing Port Alsworth Port Heiden Portage Creek Quinhagak Red Devil Russian Mission Sand Point Shageluk Sleetmute South Naknek St. George St. Paul Stony River Takotna Togiak Toksook Bay Tuntutuliak Tununak Twin Hills Ugashik Unalaska Upper Kalskag