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State Minimum Wages | 2019 
Minimum Wage by State
The table below reflects current state minimum wages in effect as of Jan. 1, 2019, as well as 
future enacted increases.

Summary

2019 Highlights

◾ Eighteen states began the new year with higher minimum wages. Eight states (Alaska, 
Florida, Minnesota, Montana, New Jersey, Ohio, South Dakota and Vermont) 
automatically increased their rates based on the cost of living, while 10 states (Arizona, 
Arkansas, California, Colorado, Maine, Massacusetts, Missouri, New York, Rhode Island 
and Washington) increased their rates due to previously approved legislation or ballot 
initiatives. Other states that will see rate increases during the 2019 calendar year include 
D.C., Delaware, Michigan and Oregon.

◾ New Jersey enacted AB 15 (https://legiscan.com/NJ/bill/A15/2018) in February, which will 
gradually increase the minimum wage rate to $15 by 2024. (The minimum wage for 
tipped employees will increase to $9.87 over the same period.) The schedule of annual 
increases was delayed for certain seasonal workers and employees of small employers, 
and a training wage of 90 percent of the minimum wage was created for certain 
employees for their first 120 hours of work. 

◾ Illinois enacted SB 1 (http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/billstatus.asp?
DocNum=1&GAID=15&GA=101&DocTypeID=SB&LegID=113573&SessionID=108) in 



February, which will phase in a minimum wage increase to $15 by 2025. The measure 
also adjusted the youth wage for workers under age 18 (it will gradually increase to 
$13 by 2025) and created a tax credit program to offset labor cost increases for smaller 
employers.

◾ Maryland's legislature overrode a gubernatorial veto to enact a measure (SB 280
(http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?
id=SB0280&stab=01&pid=billpage&tab=subject3&ys=2019RS)) that phased-in a minimum 
wage increase to $15 by 2024 (with a delayed schedule of rate increases for smaller 
employers) and eliminated the tip credit and the state subminimum wage for employees 
younger than age 20. 

◾ New Mexico enacted SB 437 (https://www.nmlegis.gov/Legislation/Legislation?
Chamber=S&LegType=B&LegNo=437&year=19) in April, which will raise the state 
minimum wage to $12 by 2023. The measue also established a training wage for high 
school students and slightly increased the tipped minimum wage.  

2018 Highlights

◾ Eighteen states began the new year with higher minimum wages. Eight states (Alaska, 
Florida, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, New Jersey, Ohio and South Dakota) 
automatically increased their rates based on the cost of living, while eleven states 
(Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Maine, Michigan, New York, Rhode Island, Vermont 
and Washington) increased their rates due to previously approved legislation or ballot 
initiatives.  

◾ Massachusetts enacted a measure (HB 4640 (https://malegislature.gov/Bills/190/H4640)) 
to increase the state minimum wage to $15 over five years. The tipped wage would rise 
to $6.75 from $3.75 over the same time period.

◾ Delaware enacted SB 170 (https://legiscan.com/DE/bill/SB170/2017), which phases in a 
two-step increase. The rate rises from $8.25 to $8.75 effective Jan. 1, 2019 (as amended 
by HB 483 (https://legiscan.com/DE/bill/HB483/2017)), and will increase again to $9.25 
effective Oct. 1, 2019. 

◾ Voters in Arkansas
(https://www.sos.arkansas.gov/uploads/elections/Issue_5_for_Website.pdf) and Missouri
(https://www.sos.mo.gov/CMSImages/Elections/Petitions/2018-204.pdf) approved ballot 
initiatives phasing in increases to $11 and $12 per hour, respectively. 

◾ The Michigan legislature enacted SB 1171
(http://www.legislature.mi.gov/documents/2017-2018/publicact/pdf/2018-PA-0368.pdf), 
which raises the minimum wage on an annual basis until it reaches $12.05 in 2030. 



2017 Highlights

◾ Nineteen states began 2017 with higher minimum wages. Seven states (Alaska, Florida, 
Missouri, Montana, New Jersey, Ohio and South Dakota) automatically increased their 
rates based on the cost of living, five states (Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Maine and 
Washington) increased their rates through ballot initiatives previously approved by 
voters, and seven states (California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Michigan, New 
York and Vermont) did so as a result of legislation passed in prior sessions. Washington 
D.C., Maryland and Oregon raised their respective minimum wages on July 1, 2017 due to 
previously enacted legislation.

◾ Rhode Island was the only state to enact
(http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText/BillText17/HouseText17/H5175Aaa.pdf) a 
minimum wage increase during the 2017 legislative sessions. 

2016 Highlights
◾ Voters in Arizona, Colorado, Maine and Washington approved November ballot 

measures to raise their respective minimum wages. Arizona, Colorado and Maine will 
incrementally increase their minimum wages to $12 an hour by 2020. Washington's will 
be increased incrementally to $13.50 an hour by 2020. 

◾ New York became the second state to pass a new law that would raise the minimum 
wage in New York City to $15 per hour by the end of 2018. Washington D.C. followed suit, 
enacting a law to raise the minimum wage in the District to $15 per hour by July 1, 2020.

◾ On April 4, California Governor Jerry Brown signed SB 3 into law. The new law increases 
the minimum wage to $15 per hour by Jan. 1, 2022, for employers with 26 or more 
employees. For employers with 25 or fewer employees the minimum wage will reach $15 
per hour by Jan. 1, 2023. Increases may be paused by the governor if certain economic or 
budgetary conditions exist. Beginning the first Jan. 1 after the minimum wage reaches 
$15 per hour for smaller employers, the minimum wage is indexed annually for inflation.

◾ On March 23, Governor Kenneth Mapp of the Virgin Islands signed Act 7856, establishing 
an $8.35 minimum wage with scheduled annual increases on June 1, 2017, and 2018 until 
the rate reaches $10.50.  

◾ On March 2, Oregon Governor Kate Brown signed SB 1532 into law. It establishes a series 
of annual minimum wage increases from July 1, 2016, through July 1, 2022. Beginning July 
1, 2023, the minimum wage rate will be indexed to inflation based on the Consumer Price 
Index.

◾ Fourteen states begin the new year with higher minimum wages. Of those, 12 states 
increased their rates through legislation passed in the 2014 or 2015 sessions, while two 
states automatically increased their rates based on the cost of living. 



◾ Of the 11 states that currently tie increases to the cost of living, eight did not increase 
their minimum wage rates for 2016. Colorado provided for an 8-cent increase and South 
Dakota granted a 5-cent increase per hour. Increases in Nevada are required to take 
effect in July.

◾ Maryland, Minnesota and D.C. have additional increases scheduled for 2016. Nevada will 
announce in July whether or not there will be a cost of living increase to their indexed 
minimum wage.

2015 Highlights

◾ The Rhode Island legislature enacted an increase, taking the state minimum wage to 
$9.60 effective Jan. 1, 2016. (HB 5074
(http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText/BillText15/HouseText15/H5074A.pdf) / S194
(http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText/BillText15/HouseText15/H5074A.pdf))

◾ The increases D.C. and Maryland passed during the 2014 session take effect July 1, 2015. 
D.C.'s new wage of $10.50 an hour makes it the first jurisdiction to cross the $10 
threshold among the states. Maryland's minimum wage rose to $8.25 on July 1.

◾ Delaware also passed an increase in 2014, which took effect June 1, 2015, increasing the 
state's minimum wage to $8.25 an hour.

2014 Highlights

◾ Lawmakers in Connecticut (http://www.cga.ct.gov/2014/ACT/PA/2014PA-00001-R00SB-
00032-PA.htm), Delaware
(http://legis.delaware.gov/LIS/lis147.nsf/EngrossmentsforLookup/SB+6/
$file/Engross.html?open), Hawaii, (http://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/measure_indiv.aspx?
billtype=SB&billnumber=2609&year=2014)Maryland
(http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2014RS/bills/hb/hb0295E.pdf), Massachusetts
(https://malegislature.gov/Bills/188/Senate/S2195), Michigan
(http://www.legislature.mi.gov/documents/2013-2014/publicact/htm/2014-PA-0138.htm), 
Minnesota (http://wdoc.house.leg.state.mn.us/leg/LS88/HF2091.1.pdf), Rhode Island
(http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText/BillText14/HouseText14/H7194A.pdf), Vermont, 
(http://www.leg.state.vt.us/docs/2014/bills/Passed/H-552.pdf)West Virginia
(http://www.legis.state.wv.us/Bill_Status/bills_text.cfm?
billdoc=hb201%20ENR.htm&yr=2014&sesstype=2X&i=201) and D.C.
(http://www.dcejc.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Minimum-Wage-Amendment-
Act.pdf) enacted increases during the 2014 session.

◾ Voters in Alaska, Arkansas, Nebraska and South Dakota approved minimum wage 
increases through ballot measures (/default.aspx?tabid=28595).





Currently, 29 states and D.C. have minimum wages above the federal minimum wage
(http://www.dol.gov/whd/minimumwage.htm) of $7.25 per hour.

Five states have not adopted a state minimum wage: Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, South 
Carolina and Tennessee.  New Hampshire repealed their state minimum wage in 2011 but 
adopted the federal minimum wage by reference.

State Legislation
◾ Minimum wage legislation database (/default.aspx?tabid=27923)

◾ Blog: Minimum Wage Developments (August 2018) (/blog/2018/08/23/state-minimum-
wage-developments.aspx)

State Minimum Wage Legislation

State
Minimum 
Wage

Future 
Enacted
Increases

Indexed Automatic
Annual Adjustments

Alabama none

Alaska $9.89 Indexed annual increases begin
Jan. 1, 2017. (2014 ballot measure)

American 
Samoa

varies 

Arizona $11 $12 eff. 1-1-20 Rate increased annually based on cost 
of living beginning Jan. 2021 (2016 
ballot measure)

Arkansas $9.25 $10 eff. 1-1-20

$11 eff. 1-1-21

 California $12 $13 eff. 1-1-20

$14 eff. 1-1-21

$15 eff. 1-1-22

Indexed annual increases based on 
CPI begin Jan. 1, 2023

 Colorado $11.10 $12 eff. 1-1-20 Rate increased  annually based on cost 
of living beginning Jan. 1 2021 (2016 
ballot measure)
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State
Minimum 
Wage

Future 
Enacted
Increases

Indexed Automatic
Annual Adjustments

 Connecticut $10.10

 Delaware $8.75 $9.25 eff. 10-
1-19

 D.C. $13.25 $14 eff. 7-1-19

$15 eff. 7-1-20

Indexed annual increases based on 
CPI begin July 1, 2021

 Florida $8.46 Annual increase based cost of living. 
(Constitutional amendment 2004)

 Georgia $5.15

 Guam $8.25

 Hawaii $10.10

 Idaho $7.25

 Illinois $8.25 $9.25 eff. 1-1-
20

$10 eff. 7-1-20

$11 eff. 1-1-21

$12 eff. 1-1-22

$13 eff. 1-1-23

$14 eff. 1-1-24

$15 eff. 1-1-
25

 Indiana $7.25

 Iowa $7.25

3
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State
Minimum 
Wage

Future 
Enacted
Increases

Indexed Automatic
Annual Adjustments

 Kansas $7.25

 Kentucky $7.25

 Louisiana none

 Maine $11  $12 eff. 1-1-20 Indexed annual increases based on 
CPI begin Jan 1, 2021

 Maryland $10.10 $11 eff. 1-1-20

$11.75 eff. 
1-1-21

$12.50 eff. 
1-1-22

$13.25 eff. 
1-1-23

$14 eff. 1-1-24

$15 eff. 1-1-25

 Massachusetts $12.00  $12.75 eff. 
1-1-20

$13.50 eff. 
1-1-21

$14.25 eff. 
1-1-22

$15 eff. 1-1-23

5
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State
Minimum 
Wage

Future 
Enacted
Increases

Indexed Automatic
Annual Adjustments

 Michigan $9.25 $9.45 eff. 
3-29-19

$9.65 eff. 
2020

$9.87 eff. 
2021

$10.10 eff. 
2022

$10.33 eff. 
2023

$10.56 eff. 
2024

$10.80 eff. 
2025

$11.04 eff. 
2026

$11.29 eff. 
2027

$11.54 eff. 
2028

$11.79 eff. 
2029

$12.05 eff. 
2030

 Minnesota $9.86/
$8.04 

Indexed annual increases begin
Jan. 1, 2018.

(2014 legislation)

 Mississippi none

8
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State
Minimum 
Wage

Future 
Enacted
Increases

Indexed Automatic
Annual Adjustments

 Missouri $8.60  $8.60 eff. 1-1-
19

$9.45 eff. 1-1-
20

$10.30 eff. 
1-1-21

$11.15 eff. 
1-1-22

$12 eff. 1-1-23

Minimum wage increased or 
decreased by cost of living starting Jan. 
1, 2024. (2018 ballot measure)

 Montana $8.50/$4  Increases done annually based on the 
CPI and effective Jan. 1 of the following 
year. (2006 ballot measure)

 Nebraska $9

 Nevada $8.25/$7.25 Increases subject to the federal 
minimum wage and consumer price 
index. Increases take effect July 1. 
(Constitutional amendment 
2004/2006).

 New 
Hampshire

repealed by 
HB 133 
(2011)

 New Jersey $8.85 $10 eff. 7-1-19

$11 eff. 1-1-20

$12 eff. 1-1-21

$13 eff. 1-1-22

$14 eff. 1-1-23

$15 eff. 1-1-24

Indexed annual increases based on the 
CPI beginning 2025. (2019 legislation)

9
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State
Minimum 
Wage

Future 
Enacted
Increases

Indexed Automatic
Annual Adjustments

 New Mexico $7.50 $9.00 eff. 1-1-
20

$10.50 eff. 
1-1-21

$11.50 eff. 
1-1-22

$12.00 eff. 
1-1-23

 New York $11.10 $11.80 eff. 12-
31-19

$12.50 eff. 12-
31-20

After 12-31-
20, the rate is 
adjusted 
annually for 
inflation until 
it reaches 
$15.00

 North Carolina $7.25

 North Dakota $7.25

 Northern 
Mariana Islands

$7.25

 Ohio $8.55/
$7.25

Indexed annual increases based on the 
CPI. (Constitutional amendment 2006)

 Oklahoma $7.25/$2 
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State
Minimum 
Wage

Future 
Enacted
Increases

Indexed Automatic
Annual Adjustments

 Oregon $10.75 $11.25 eff. 
7-1-19

$12.00 eff. 
7-1-20

$12.75 eff. 
7-1-21

$13.50 eff. 
7-1-22

Indexed annual increases based on the 
CPI are effective July 1, 2023 (2016 
legislation)

 Pennsylvania $7.25

 Puerto Rico $7.25/$5.08 

 Rhode Island $10.50

 South Carolina none

 South Dakota $9.10 Annual indexed increases begin
Jan. 1, 2016. (2014 ballot measure.)

 Tennessee none

 Texas $7.25

 Utah $7.25

 Vermont $10.78 Beginning Jan. 1, 2019, minimum wage 
increased annually by 5% or the CPI, 
whichever is smaller; it cannot 
decrease. Note: Vermont started 
indexing in 2007 but enacted 
additional increases in 2014.
(2014 legislation)
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State
Minimum 
Wage

Future 
Enacted
Increases

Indexed Automatic
Annual Adjustments

 Virgin Islands  $10.50

 Virginia $7.25

 Washington $12 $13.50 eff. 
1-1-2020

Annual indexed increases began Jan. 1, 
2020. (ballot measure 2016)

 West Virginia $8.75

 Wisconsin $7.25

 Wyoming $5.15

Sources: U.S. Dept. of Labor, http://www.dol.gov/esa/minwage/america.htm; and state web 
sites.

Notes
American Samoa: The Fair Minimum Wage Act of 2007 (Public Law 110-28) sets minimum 

wage rates within American Samoa and provides for additional increases in the minimum 
wage of $0.50 per hour each year on May 25, until reaching the minimum wage generally 
applicable in the United States. The wage rates are set for particular industries, not for an 
employee's particular occupation. The rates are minimum rates; an employer may choose 
to pay an employee at a rate higher than the rate(s) for its industry.

California: The minimum wage scheduled increases are delayed by one year for 
employers with 25 or fewer employees. The rate increases to $10.50 per hour effective 
1/1/2018 and is increased by $1.00 increments annually until it reaches $15.00 effective 
1/1/2023

Connecticut: The Connecticut minimum wage rate automatically increases to 1/2 of 1 
percent above the rate set in the Fair Labor Standards Act if the Federal minimum wage 
rate equals or becomes higher than the State minimum.

1
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Illinois: Employers with 50 or fewer full time employees are eligible for a tax credit equal 
to a certain percentage of the cost of their annual wage increases. Employers are only 
eligible for the credit if the average wage for employees making $55,000 or less increases 
over the year. The amount of the credit that can be claimed is as follows: 25 percent for the 
2020 reporting period; 21 percent for 2021; 17 percent for 2022; 13 percent for 2023; 9 
percent for 2024; 5 percent for 2025; 5 percent for 2026; 5 percent for 2027, but only for 
employers with no more than five employees. 

The Maine minimum wage is automatically replaced with the Federal minimum wage rate 
if it is higher than the State minimum.

6  Mayland: For small employers (14 or fewer employees), the schedule of increases is as 
follows: $11.00 eff. 1-1-20; $11.60 eff. 1-1-21; $12.20 eff. 1-1-22; $12.80 eff. 1-1-23; $13.40 
eff. 1-1-24; $14.00 eff. 1-1-2025; $14.60 eff. 1-1-26; $15.00 eff. 7-1-26.

The Massachusetts minimum wage rate automatically increases to 10 cents above the 
rate set in the Fair Labor Standards Act if the Federal minimum wage equals or becomes 
higher than the State minimum.

8 Minnesota: With the passage of H.B. 2091 (2014), the annual sales volume threshold was 
reduced to $500,000. For large employers, with an annual sales volume of $500,000 or 
more, the minimum wage is currently $9.50; for small employers, those with an annual 
sales volume of less than $500,000, the minimum wage is $7.75.

9 Missouri - In addition to the exemption for federally covered employment, the law 
exempts, among others, employees of a retail or service business with gross annual sales or 
business done of less than $500,000.

Montana: the $4.00 rate applies to businesses with gross annual sales of $110,000 or 
less; $8.15 applies to all others.

Nevada: $8.25 without health benefits; $7.25 with health benefits.

New Jersey: For small employers (six employees or fewer), the schedule of increases is as 
follows: $10.30 eff. 1-1-20; $11.10 eff. 1-1-21; $11.90 eff. 1-1-22; $12.70 eff. 1-1-23; $13.50 
eff. 1-1-24; $14.30 eff. 1-1-25; $15.00 eff 1-1-26.

New York: The new minimum wage varies across the state based on geographical location and, in 
New York City, employer size.

New York Minimum Wage
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Year
NYC Large Employers (11 or more 
employees)

NYC Small 
Employers 
(10 or 
fewer 
employees)

NY 
Downstate 
(Nassau, 
Suffolk and 
Westchester 
counties)

Dec. 31, 2017 $13 $12 $11

Dec. 31, 2017 $15 $13.50 $12

Dec. 31, 2017 -- $15 $13

Dec. 31, 2017 -- -- $14

Dec. 31, 2017 -- -- $15

Ohio: $7:25 for employers grossing $299,000 or less

Oklahoma: Employers of ten or more full-time employees at any one location and 
employers with annual gross sales over $100,000 irrespective of number of full-time 
employees are subject to federal minimum wage; all others are subject to state minimum 
wage of $2.00 (OK ST T. 40 § 197.5).

Oregon: In addition to the new standard minimum wage rate, SB 1532 sets out a higher 
rate for employers located in the urban growth boundary, and a lower rate for employers 
located in nonurban counties. Their respective planned increases are below.

Oregon Minimum Wage

Year Portland Metro Nonurban Counties

July 1, 2016 $9.75 $9.50

July 1, 2017 $11.25 $10

July 1, 2018 $12 $10.50

July 1, 2019 $12.50 $11

July 1, 2020 $13.25 $11.50

July 1, 2021 $14 $12

14 

15

16





Year Portland Metro Nonurban Counties

July 1, 2022 $14.75 $12.50

July 1, 2023 $1.25 over standard minimum wage $1 below standard minimum wage

Puerto Rico: Employers covered by the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) are 
subject to the Federal minimum wage of $7.25. Employers not covered by the FLSA will be 
subject to a minimum wage that is at least 70 percent of the Federal minimum wage or the 
applicable mandatory decree rate of $5.08, whichever is higher. The Secretary of Labor and 
Human Resources may authorize a rate based on a lower percentage for any employer who 
can show that implementation of the 70 percent rate would substantially curtail 
employment in that business.

Other Exceptions

◾ Missouri, Oklahoma, Texas, Puerto Rico, Utah and Virginia exclude from coverage 
any employment that is subject to the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act.

◾ Hawaii, Kansas and Michigan exclude from coverage any employment that is subject to 
the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act, if the State wage is higher than the Federal wage.

◾ The Georgia state minimum wage is $5.15. Employees covered under the federal Fair 
Labor Standards Act are subject to the federal minimum wage of $7.25, but those not 
covered under the FLSA may be paid the state minimum wage of $5.15.
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