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State Statutory Citation 

Preference Points Awarded in Initial Examinations/Hiring 
State 

Residency 
Requirements 

Enforcement 

Veterans 
Disabled 

Veterans/PO
Ws 

National 
Guard 

Spouse or 
Surviving Spouse 

Alabama Ala. Code §36-26-15 Five points Ten points  Ten points Not specified  

Alaska 

Alaska Stat. 
§39.25.150 

Five percent Ten percent Five percent  Not specified 

 

Alaska Stat. 
§39.25.159 

Arizona 
Ariz. Rev. Stat. §38-

491 et seq. 
Five points Ten points  Five points Not specified 

A person who violates 
the law is guilty of a 
class 2 misdemeanor. 
An officer or person 
charged with 
administering a civil 
service or merit 
system of 



employment who 
knowingly refuses or 
fails to observe the 
law in selecting a 
public employee or 
grading exams is guilty 
of a class 3 
misdemeanor (§38-
494). 

Arkansas 
Ark. Stat. Ann. §21-

3-301 et seq.     
(2013 HB 1518) 

Five points Ten points Five points 
Ten points if 

spouse is 
disabled 

Yes 

 

California 

Cal. Govt. Code 
§18971 et seq. 

Ten points Fifteen points 
Ten points 
If disabled, 

fifteen points 

5 or 10 points as 
specified. 

Not specified 

 

Cal. Govt. Code 
§§19997.6 – 

19997.7 

Colorado 

Colo. Const. Art. XII, 
§15 

Five points Ten points  Five points Not specified 

 

Colo. Rev. Stat. §29-
5.5-101 et seq. 

All applicants have the 
right to appeal the 
denial of veterans 
preference points 
before a three-
member panel (§29-
5.5-105). 

Connecticut 

Conn. Gen. Stat. §5-
224 

Five points Ten points  
Five points 

If disabled, ten 
points 

Not specified 

 

Conn. Gen. Stat. §7-
415 

Delaware 
29 Del. Code Ann. 

§5935 
Five points Ten points  Five points Not specified 

 

District of 
Columbia 

D.C. Code Ann. §1-
607.03 

Five points 
Five additional 

points 
 

Same as 5 U.S.C. 
§§2108(3) and 

3309(1) 
Not specified 

 



Florida 

Fla. Stat. §110.2135 

Five points Ten points  
Five points 

If disabled, ten 
points 

Not specified 

 

Fla. Stat. §295.065 
et seq.                        

(2013 SB 690) 

 

Georgia 
Ga. Code §45-2-20 

et seq. 
Five points Ten points 

Five points as 
specified 

  
 

Guam 
4 Guam Code Ann. 

§4104 
Five points Ten points   Yes 

 

Hawaii 
Hawaii Rev. Stat. 

§76-103 
     

 

Idaho 
Idaho Code §65-501 

et seq.                 
(2013 SB 1045) 

Five 
percentage 

points 

Ten 
percentage 

points 
 

Five percentage 
points 

If disabled, ten 
percentage 

points 

Yes 

An employer who 
deliberately or 
willfully refuse to give 
preference to 
qualified veterans is 
subject to writs of 
mandate and may be 
required to employ or 
reemploy the veteran 
and pay damages 
(§65-506).  

Illinois 

Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 15, 
§310/10b.7 

Five points as 
specified 

Three points 
as specified 

Ten points 
Three points 
as specified 

Same as the 
deceased or 

disabled veteran 
Not specified 

 

Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 15, 
§410/10b.7 

 

Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 15, 
§510/9b.5 

 

Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 20, 
§415/8b.7 

 

Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 55, 
§5/3-14021 

 

Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 65, 
§5/10-1-16 

 

Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 
110, §70/36g 

 



Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 
330, §55/0.01 et 

seq. 

Any person who 
knowingly and willfully 
violates the law is 
guilty of a petty 
offense and fined 
between $75 and 
$300 for each offense 
(§55/3). 

Indiana 

Ind. Code §4-15-2.2-
32 

Ten 
percentage 

points 
   Not specified 

 

Ind. Code §5-9-3-1 
et seq. 

Iowa 

Iowa Code §8A.413 

Five points Ten points   Yes 

 

Iowa Code §35C.1 

Iowa Code §400.10 

Iowa Code §8A.402 
(2010 H.F. 2454) 
Noncompetitive 
appointments 

Kansas 
Kan. Rev. Stat. §73-

201 et seq. 
    Not specified 

Any state, county or 
city officer or board 
who knowingly and 
willfully disobeys or 
neglects to obey the 
law is guilty of a 
misdemeanor and 
fined between $50 
and $500 (§73-202); 
Any veteran who 
alleges that a state 
agency, city or county 
has not provided the 
veterans preference, 
after exhausting any 
available 
administrative 



remedy, may bring an 
action in the district 
court (§73-201). 

Kan. Rev. Stat. §75-
2955 

 
 

Kentucky 
Ky. Rev. Stat. 

§18a.150 
Five points Ten points Five points 

Ten points as 
specified 

Not specified 
 

Louisiana 
La. Rev. Stat. Ann. 

§2416 
Five points Ten points  

Five points 
If disabled, ten 

points 
Not specified 

 

Maine 
Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. 

tit. 5, §§7054 – 
7055. 

Five points Ten points  
Five points 

If disabled, ten 
points 

Not specified 

 

Maryland 
Md. Public Utilities 

Code §18-111 
Five percent    Yes 

 

Massachusetts 

Mass. Gen. Laws 
Ann. ch. 31, §3 

    Yes 

 

Mass. Gen. Laws 
Ann. ch. 31, §26 

Mass. Gen. Laws 
Ann. ch. 41, §112 

Mass. Gen. Laws 
Ann. ch. 149, §26 

Michigan 
Mich. Comp. Laws 

§35.401 et seq. 
    Yes 

Any person with the 
power of appointment 
or someone under 
him that violates the 
law is guilty of a 
misdemeanor and 
either fined between 
$50 and $100, 
imprisoned in the 
county jail for no 
more than 90 days, or 
both (§35.403). 



Minnesota 

Minn. Stat. §43A.11 
et seq. 

Ten points Fifteen points  
Same as veteran 

as specified 
Not specified 

 

Minn. Stat. 
§197.447 et seq. 

Any willful violation of 
the law by officers, 
officials or employees 
is a misdemeanor. 
Aggrieved applicants 
are entitled to a writ 
of mandamus to 
remedy the wrong 
(§197.46). 

Mississippi 
Miss. Code Ann. 

§25-9-301 et seq. 
    Not specified 

 

Missouri 

Mo. Const. Art. IV, 
§19 

Five points Ten points  
Five points 

If disabled, five 
points 

Not specified 

 

Mo. Rev. Stat. 
§36.220 

Mo. Rev. Stat. 
§285.237 

Montana 

Mont. Code Ann. 
§10-2-402 

Five 
percentage 

points 

Ten 
percentage 

points 

Five 
percentage 

points 
 Not specified 

 

Mont. Code Ann. 
§39-29-101 et seq. 

Any applicant who 
believes he or she has 
been denied veterans 
preference has the 
right to an appeal 
hearing. If found 
guilty, the employer 
must comply with the 
law and may be 
ordered to pay certain 
costs of the applicant 
(§39-29-104). 

Mont. Code Ann. 
§49-2-405 

 

Nebraska Neb. Rev. Stat. §23- Five points Ten points   Not specified  



2529 

Neb. Rev. Stat. §48-
225 et seq. 

Five percent 
Additional five 

percent 

Violators of the law 
are guilty of a class 4 
misdemeanor. 
Violators are 
prohibited from 
receiving any 
compensation from 
public funds until they 
comply with the law 
(§48-230). 

Nevada 

Nev. Rev. Stat. 
§281.060 

Five points Ten points  Five points Yes 

Violators are guilty of 
a misdemeanor. 
Penalties do not apply 
where the violations 
result from 
misrepresentations 
made by the 
employee. 

Nev. Rev. Stat. 
§284.260 

 

New 
Hampshire 

N.H. Rev. Stat. §282-
A:115 

    Yes 

 

N.H. Rev. Stat. 
§283:1 et seq. 

New Jersey 

N.J. Rev. Stat. 
§11A:5-1 et seq. 

Immediately 
after 

disabled 
veterans in 

order of 
respective 

scores 

Top of the 
employment 

list in order of 
respective 

scores 

 

Same as 
deceased or 

disabled veteran 
as specified 

 

Any applicant who 
believes he or she has 
been denied veterans 
preference has the 
right to appeal the 
decision before the 
Adjutant General 
(§11A:5-1.1). 

N.J. Rev. Stat. 
§38A:3-12 et seq. 

 

N.J. Rev. Stat.  



§11A:5-8 
Noncompetitive 
appointments 

New Mexico 

N.M. Stat. Ann. §10-
9-13.2 

Five points Ten points 
Five points 
If disabled, 
ten points 

  

 

N.M. Stat. Ann. §20-
4-9 

New York 

N.Y. Civil Service 
Law §85 

Five points Ten points   Yes 

A refusal to allow the 
preference in 
retention  
to any veteran or 
disabled veteran, or a 
reduction of 
compensation 
intended to bring 
about his resignation 
is a misdemeanor. Any 
affected veteran has 
the right to seek a 
resolution and 
damages before a 
court.  
 

N.Y. Civil Service 
Law §55-c 

Noncompetitive 
appointment 

 

North Carolina 
N.C. Gen. Stat. 
§126-80 et seq. 

    Yes 

The willful failure of 
any employee to 
comply with the law 
constitutes personal 
misconduct and may 
result in suspension, 
demotion or dismissal; 
Any applicant who 
believes he or she has 



been denied veterans 
preference may 
appeal the decision to 
the state Personnel 
Commission        
(§126-82). 

N.C. Gen. Stat. 
§128-15 

 

North Dakota 
N.D. Cent. Code 

§37-19.1-01 et seq. 
(2013 SB 2127) 

Five points Ten points  

Same as 
deceased or 

disabled veteran 
as specified 

Yes 

Any applicant who 
believes he or she has 
been denied veterans 
preference has the 
right to an appeal 
hearing. If successful, 
the applicant is 
entitled to immediate 
employment together 
with backpay and 
benefits from the date 
the appointment 
should have been 
made (§37-19.1-04). 

Ohio 

Ohio Rev. Code 
§124.23 

Twenty 
percent 

 
Twenty 
percent 

 Yes 

 

Ohio Rev. Code 
§124.26 

 

Ohio Rev. Code 
§5903.11 

The law requires each 
agency state agency 
providing employment 
and training services 
to veterans to 
individually report to 
the legislature on 
action taken to ensure 
compliance with the 
provisions of the law. 

Oklahoma Okla. Stat. tit. 72, Five points Ten points  Five points Yes  



§401 et seq. 

Okla. Stat. tit. 74, 
§840-4.14  

Competitive and 
noncompetitive 
appointments 

Oregon 
Or. Rev. Stat. 

§408.225 et seq. 
(2013 HB 2633) 

Five points Ten points 
Five points, 
If disabled, 
ten points 

 Not specified 

Violating the law is 
considered an 
unlawful employment 
practice; Aggrieved 
veterans may file a 
complaint (§408.230). 

Pennsylvania 

Pa. Cons. Stat. tit. 
51, §7101 et seq. 

State - Ten 
points 

Municipal – 
Fifteen 
percent 

  
Same as 

deceased or 
disabled veteran 

Not specified 

 

Pa. Stat. tit. 53, 
§23431 

Pa. Stat. tit. 53, 
§39405 

Puerto Rico 29 L.P.R.A. §737 Ten percent    Not specified  

Rhode Island 
R.I. Gen. Laws §30-

21-1 et seq. 
    Yes 

 Violators of the law 
are guilty of a 
misdemeanor and 
fined no more than 
$1,000 (§30-21-7). 

South Carolina 
S.C. Code Ann. §1-1-

550 
    Not specified 

 

South Dakota 
S.D. Codified Laws 
Ann. §3-3-1 et seq. 

 

A veteran who 
has a service-

connected 
disability shall 

be given a 
preference 

over a 
nondisabled 

veteran. 

 

Same as 
deceased or 

disabled veteran 
as specified 

Yes 

 A refusal to allow the 
veterans preference 
or a reduction in 
salary for the position 
with intent to bring 
about the resignation 
of the incumbent, 
entitles the applicant 
or incumbent to 
maintain an action of 



mandamus to right 
the wrong (§3-3-3). 

Tennessee 
Tenn. Code Ann. §8-

30-307 

Veterans 
must be 

invited to 
interview. If 

all else is 
equal, 

preference 
will be given 

to the 
veteran for 

the position. 

Veterans must 
be invited to 
interview. If 

all else is 
equal, 

preference 
will be given 

to the veteran 
for the 

position. 

  Yes 

 

Texas 

Tex. Govt. Code 
§656.027 

Ten points Fifteen points  

Same as 
deceased or 

disabled veteran 
as specified 

Not specified 

 

Tex. Govt. Code 
§657.001 et seq. 

Applicants entitled to 
a veterans preference 
have the right to 
appeal unfavorable 
decisions (§657.010).  

Utah 
Utah Code Ann. 
§71-10-1 et seq. 

Five percent Ten percent  
Same as 

deceased or 
disabled veteran 

Not specified 

Any officers, agents or 
representatives of a 
government entity 
who is charged with 
employment of 
people and who 
willfully fails to give 
veterans preference 
as provided in this 
chapter is guilty of a 
misdemeanor        
(§71-10-3). 

Vermont 
Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 20, 

§1543 
    Not specified 

 

Virginia Va. Code §2.2-2903 Five percent Ten percent Five percent  Not specified  



Va. Code §15.2-
1509 

If disabled, 
ten percent 

Virgin Islands Not specified       

Washington 

Wash. Rev. Code 
§41.04.010 

Five or ten 
percent as 
specified 

Five or ten 
percent as 
specified 

  Not specified 

 

Wash. Rev. Code 
§73.16.005 et seq. 

All officials or other 
persons with hiring 
authority who violate 
the law are guilty of a 
class 1 civil infraction 
(§73.16.020). 

West Virginia 
W. Va. Code §6-13-1 

Five points Ten points   Not specified 

 

W. Va. Code §9A-4-1 
et seq. 

Wisconsin 

Wis. Stat. §230.16 

Ten points 
Fifteen to 

twenty points, 
as specified 

Ten points Not specified  

 

Wis. Stat. §230.275 
Noncompetitive 
appointments 

Wyoming 
Wyo. Rev. Stat. §19-

14-102 
Five points Ten points  As specified Yes 

 

 


